---
title: "Burford Prices $300M Secured Notes at 8.000% and Conditionally Calls All $400M of Its 6.250% 2028s"
url: https://altstreet.investments/news/burford-capital-300m-notes-offering-400m-2028-notes-redemption-2026-09-14
kind: news-article
updated: 2026-09-15
description: "Burford Capital's Sept. 14 8-K details a $300M senior secured notes offering at 8.000% and a conditional call of all $400M of its 6.250% 2028 notes."
publisher: AltStreet (https://altstreet.investments)
license: Public factual pages may be read, quoted and cited with attribution and a link. Bulk redistribution is not permitted.
---

# Burford Prices $300M Secured Notes at 8.000% and Conditionally Calls All $400M of Its 6.250% 2028s

An 8-K filed September 14, 2026 shows the litigation funder replacing unsecured debt with secured debt at a coupon 175 basis points higher. The redemption is conditioned on at least $300 million of new proceeds arriving by September 24.

Published September 15, 2026. Platform: Burford Capital (https://altstreet.investments/platforms/reviews/burford-capital). Entity: Burford Capital Ltd (CIK 1714174, https://altstreet.investments/edgar/1714174).

Burford Capital Limited disclosed in a Form 8-K filed September 14, 2026 (accession 0001714174-26-000099) that its subsidiary Burford Capital Global Finance LLC launched a private offering of $300 million of senior secured notes due 2029, and in the same action delivered a conditional notice to redeem all $400 million of its outstanding 6.250% senior notes due 2028.

The redemption is set for September 24, 2026 and is conditional: per the 8-K, it depends on the issuer having received at least $300 million of proceeds from new debt incurrences on or before that date. The litigation funder is retiring unsecured debt and replacing it with secured debt at a higher coupon.

## What the filings show

The 8-K describes a planned private offering of $300 million aggregate principal amount of senior secured notes due 2029, issued by Burford Capital Global Finance LLC, an indirect subsidiary. Burford's own announcement the same day states the notes priced at an 8.000% coupon, and that they are guaranteed by Burford Capital and secured on a senior lien basis over substantially all of the issuing subsidiary's assets and the capital stock of certain other subsidiaries.

The conditional redemption covers the full $400 million principal amount of the 6.250% senior notes due 2028, under an indenture dated April 5, 2021, with U.S. Bank Trust Company, National Association as successor trustee. The 8-K states the redemption is conditioned on receipt of at least $300 million of new debt proceeds, which may include the private offering, on or before the redemption date.

The filing also states that Burford intends to pursue further de-leveraging after the redemption, potentially including opportunistic open-market purchases of its outstanding debt. It notes explicitly that the 8-K is not itself a notice of redemption or an offer to purchase the 2028 notes or any other indebtedness.

- New: $300,000,000 senior secured notes due 2029, priced at 8.000% per the company's announcement
- Called: all $400,000,000 of 6.250% senior notes due 2028, redemption date 2026-09-24
- Condition: at least $300,000,000 of new debt proceeds received on or before the redemption date
- Structure changes from senior unsecured (2028) to senior secured (2029)
- Coupon rises from 6.250% to 8.000%
- Indenture dated 2021-04-05; U.S. Bank Trust Company, N.A. as successor trustee


## Background

Burford Capital is a legal finance firm whose business spans litigation and arbitration funding, asset recovery and legal finance advisory. It files with the SEC as a domestic filer, trades on the New York Stock Exchange under BUR, and its registered office is in St Peter Port, Guernsey, per its EDGAR filer record.

The 6.250% notes now called were issued on April 5, 2021, when Burford Capital Global Finance LLC closed a $400 million private offering guaranteed on a senior unsecured basis by Burford Capital and two subsidiary guarantors (Form 6-K, accession 0001104659-21-047106). The company has issued several further series through the same subsidiary since, including notes due 2030, 2031, 2033 and 2034, each announced in filings on EDGAR.


## Why it matters

The transaction documents a specific near-term liability event for holders of the 2028 notes: a call of the entire tranche, contingent on the new financing closing. As of the filing date the redemption is not unconditional, and the condition is stated in dollar terms rather than tied to completion of the offering itself, since proceeds may come from other new debt.

The two structural changes are the substance. Moving from senior unsecured to senior secured grants the new holders a lien on substantially all of the issuing subsidiary's assets and on the capital stock of certain subsidiaries, which ranks them ahead of unsecured claims on those assets. The coupon moves from 6.250% to 8.000%, so the refinancing raises the cost of this tranche by 175 basis points while shortening nothing: the 2028 maturity is replaced by a 2029 one.

Neither the 8-K nor the announcement explains why the company chose a secured structure or this timing. Those are disclosed facts about terms, not stated reasons, and the filings do not supply the reasons.


## What the filings do not show

The 8-K does not establish that the offering will close or that the condition will be met, and the redemption does not occur unless it is. Nothing here should be read as confirmation that the 2028 notes have been redeemed.

The filings reviewed do not state the use of proceeds beyond the redemption, the identity of the purchasers of the new notes, the covenant package, or the precise scope of the collateral beyond the summary language in the announcement. The company's stated intention to pursue further de-leveraging is a forward-looking intention, with no timing or size specified, and is not a completed transaction.

This article does not summarize Burford's full debt stack. The company has issued further note series through the same subsidiary since 2021, and while each was announced in an EDGAR filing, the individual sizes and coupons were not independently verified for this article and are therefore not stated. Readers comparing the new 8.000% coupon against Burford's wider cost of debt should read those filings directly.


## Key facts

- Burford Capital Limited filed Form 8-K on 2026-09-14 (accession 0001714174-26-000099, CIK 0001714174).
- Subsidiary Burford Capital Global Finance LLC launched a private offering of $300,000,000 of senior secured notes due 2029; the company's announcement states an 8.000% coupon.
- The issuer delivered a conditional notice to redeem all $400,000,000 of its outstanding 6.250% senior notes due 2028, with a redemption date of 2026-09-24.
- The redemption is conditioned on the issuer receiving at least $300,000,000 of new debt proceeds on or before the redemption date.
- The 2028 notes were issued 2021-04-05 as senior unsecured obligations (Form 6-K, accession 0001104659-21-047106); the 2029 notes are senior secured.
- The coupon on the refinanced tranche rises by 175 basis points, from 6.250% to 8.000%.


## Sources

- Form 8-K, Burford Capital Ltd, accession 0001714174-26-000099 (2026-09-14): https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1714174/000171417426000099/
- Form 6-K, Burford Capital Ltd, 2028 notes closing, accession 0001104659-21-047106 (2021): https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1714174/000110465921047106/tm2112072d1_6k.htm
- Burford Capital Announces Pricing of Private Offering of Senior Secured Notes: https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/burford-capital-announces-pricing-of-private-offering-of-senior-secured-notes-302878109.html
- Burford Capital Announces Private Offering of Senior Secured Notes: https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/burford-capital-announces-private-offering-of-senior-secured-notes-302877591.html


## SEC accession numbers

- 0001714174-26-000099

---

Source page: https://altstreet.investments/news/burford-capital-300m-notes-offering-400m-2028-notes-redemption-2026-09-14
Machine index: https://altstreet.investments/llms.txt
AltStreet reads what platforms, funds and issuers file with the SEC and what they tell investors, and publishes the difference. Figures are as filed or as captured on the date stated; nothing here is investment advice.
