A Form 424B3 is a prospectus filing used to disclose substantive updates under a registration statement that is already effective. Rule 424(b)(3) covers a prospectus that reflects facts or events constituting a substantive change from, or addition to, the information in the last prospectus filed. The filing can be a short supplement or a complete updated prospectus. By itself, it does not establish that a new offering has launched, and it does not signal SEC approval.
Continuously offered funds, such as interval funds and tender-offer funds, file them often, because each change to fees, eligibility, distribution or risk disclosure has to reach the prospectus. What changed is in the text, not in the form number.
This guide uses the supplement USVC Venture Capital Access Fund filed on October 23, 2026 as its example. USVC is a registered closed-end fund advised by AngelList Asset Management; AltStreet's AngelList review covers it. The October supplement adds a Bonus Share Program and sets out who qualifies, who pays, when shares arrive and what restrictions apply.
What a 424B3 can change
A 424B3 can touch one or several parts of an offering, and only its text tells you which:
- Economic terms: sales loads, fees, expense ratios, or new programs such as share bonuses
- Access and distribution: who may purchase, through which channel, and under what limits
- Liquidity: repurchase or redemption mechanics, caps, or new restrictions
- Management and conflicts: changes affecting the adviser or its affiliates
- Disclosure: updated financial statements, risk factors, or legal developments
The October supplement: USVC's Bonus Share Program
The supplement adds the program to the "Plan of Distribution" section of USVC's July 28, 2026 prospectus, effective immediately. Eligible investors receive additional shares, which the supplement also calls Match Shares, at no additional cost, with the same rights as other shares apart from a transfer restriction.
The adviser pays, not the fund. The supplement says bonus shares will be transferred to investors, or bought for them, by the Investment Adviser or its affiliates, from their own assets and not the fund's. Because the adviser pays, the fund receives full value for any shares it issues under the program, which is why the program does not, on its own, dilute existing holders' net asset value per share.
The disclosed terms:
| Term | What the October supplement says |
|---|---|
| Who pays | The Investment Adviser or its affiliates, from their own assets, not the fund's |
| Bonus rate | Not disclosed. The supplement states no match percentage or ratio |
| Qualifying purchases | Direct purchases from the fund through usvc.com during an announced Offer Window. Purchases through a broker, platform or other intermediary, or in a retirement account, do not qualify |
| Window closing date | The earlier of the announced outside closing date and the date an announced cap on aggregate purchase orders is reached. The adviser may extend a window and enlarge its pool of Match Shares, or close it early by notice on usvc.com |
| Limit per investor | Bonus shares on the first $1,000,000 purchased in each Offer Window; the adviser may waive the limit |
| Delivery | Within 10 business days after the Window Closing Date, not after the purchase date |
| Restriction | A three-year claw-back period from the Window Closing Date: bonus shares cannot be tendered, sold, transferred or pledged, and the adviser may require forfeiture or cancellation in circumstances including repurchases and transfers |
| Program changes | The adviser may modify, suspend or end the program at any time, subject to law |
| Tax | The fund intends to treat receipt of bonus shares as not taxable income, a position that does not bind the IRS. Tax basis generally equals the cash actually paid, which can mean more taxable gain later |
Source: USVC Venture Capital Access Fund, Form 424B3 supplement, October 23, 2026.
Incentives and liquidity the supplement discloses
The supplement names two effects. Because the adviser's management fee is a percentage of net assets, bonus shares it pays for increase its net revenue if the added fee income exceeds their cost. And repurchase requests tied to bonus shares, as with other shareholders' repurchases, could have a significant negative impact on the fund, including its liquidity.
USVC offers liquidity through tender offers its board may decline to make. The three-year restriction and the board's discretion both limit how quickly bonus shares can become cash.
Does a 424B3 mean dilution, a new offering, or SEC approval?
A 424B3 does not automatically mean dilution or a new offering. Many continuously offered funds already sell shares on an ongoing basis under Rule 415 once their registration is effective; a supplement updates that existing offering. Whether a change affects existing holders, new purchasers or both is answered by the supplement's text, not implied by the form number.
A 424B3 also does not mean the SEC approved the fund. Effectiveness is procedural, and no prospectus may represent that the SEC passed on the offering's merits.
A supplement does not replace the base prospectus; it amends it. Terms the October supplement does not define carry the meanings in the July 28, 2026 prospectus, so it has to be read with that prospectus, any other supplements and the statement of additional information.
Background: USVC's document timeline
Fees and terms can change in a new prospectus rather than a supplement, which is why the documents have to be read together. USVC's recent ones:
| Date | Document | What it set |
|---|---|---|
| October 29, 2025 | Launch prospectus, filed as a 424B3 | Total annual expenses 3.61%, no fee reduction; sales load up to 3%; 2% fee on shares repurchased within 365 days |
| July 28, 2026 | Prospectus in a post-effective amendment (486BPOS) | Total annual expenses 4.55%, less a 2.05% fee reduction to 2.50% net under an expense limitation running until November 24, 2027; no sales load on direct purchases through usvc.com |
| October 23, 2026 | Supplement, filed as a 424B3 | Adds the Bonus Share Program |
Fee figures from each prospectus's Summary of Fund Expenses; AltStreet's AngelList review covers the fee history.
Finding and comparing 424B3 filings on EDGAR
On EDGAR, check the filer, the filing date, the registration number the prospectus relates to, and the date of the prospectus being supplemented. The October supplement relates to Registration No. 333-255702 and supplements the prospectus dated July 28, 2026.
A 424B4 is generally the final prospectus filed after an offering is priced, commonly in an IPO. A 424B5 is generally a prospectus supplement for a specific offering taken down from an effective shelf registration, setting out that offering's terms. A 424B3 reflects a substantive change or addition to an existing prospectus, which is why continuously offered funds use it for updates like a new distribution program.
Under Rule 424(b)(3), the filing is due no later than the fifth business day after the prospectus is first used following effectiveness in connection with a public offering or sales.
What to check after a supplement
A short review beats treating the filing as good or bad news:
- What changed: a fee, eligibility rule, liquidity term or risk disclosure, and where it sits in the base prospectus
- Who is affected: new purchasers, existing holders, direct buyers, or those using an intermediary or retirement account
- When it takes effect: the supplement's own effective language versus the filing date and any dates announced later
- Who pays: whether the fund, the adviser or an affiliate bears the cost
- Liquidity and restrictions: effects on repurchase terms, or new holding restrictions
- Tax treatment: whether the fund's stated position binds tax authorities
- Document chain: the base prospectus, the statement of additional information and other supplements to read with it
What this filing does not show
A Form 424B3 is a disclosure update, not a transaction report, a performance record or a regulatory endorsement. The October supplement does not disclose a bonus percentage, does not report that any investor has received bonus shares, and does not bind the IRS to the fund's tax position.
It also does not guarantee that the program will continue, since the adviser may modify, suspend or end it at its discretion, and does not by itself say whether a particular investor's existing holdings are affected. A complete picture requires the supplement, the base prospectus, the statement of additional information and any other supplements, with figures read as of the dates stated.
Sources
- USVC Venture Capital Access Fund, Form 424B3 supplement, October 23, 2026 (accession 0001999371-26-023402) — SEC EDGAR
- USVC Venture Capital Access Fund, prospectus dated July 28, 2026 (Form 486BPOS, accession 0001999371-26-016261) — SEC EDGAR
- USVC Venture Capital Access Fund, prospectus dated October 29, 2025 (Form 424B3, accession 0001104659-25-103721) — SEC EDGAR
- 17 CFR 230.424, filing of prospectuses — eCFR
- Form N-2 Registration Statement reference — AltStreet
- AltStreet AngelList review — AltStreet
- USVC Venture Capital Access Fund filing history on EDGAR (CIK 1858660) — SEC EDGAR

