MicroVentures vs EquityZen 2026: Two Private-Company SPV Factories
Both are SEC-registered broker-dealers that sell you a membership interest in a single-purpose LLC holding one private company, both file a separate Form D for every vehicle, and both rely on the exemption that forbids advertising. Compared on 2,942 vehicles enumerated from SEC filings, the fee each publishes, and what each will tell you about where the shares came from.
Guide Thesis
Same wrapper. Only one of them tells you what is inside it, or what it costs.
EquityZen publishes its 2.5% fee and states that it buys from existing shareholders. MicroVentures publishes no vehicle fee at all and does not say where its vehicles' shares come from.
Vehicles Enumerated
EquityZen, 2 to 1
1,943 funded vehicles and $1.578B across 49,950 subscription positions, against MicroVentures' 999 vehicles and $260.7M across 15,282 positions. Median vehicle $404,600 against $140,000.
Fee Visibility
EquityZen
2.5% from the buyer and 2.5% from the seller, published, cut from 5% after the Morgan Stanley acquisition. MicroVentures publishes no vehicle fee anywhere; ten fee and terms pages return navigation chrome only.
Where the Shares Come From
Only EquityZen says
EquityZen states it is a secondary marketplace buying from existing shareholders. MicroVentures does not disclose, for any vehicle, whether the securities were acquired from the company or from an existing holder.
Open to Non-Accredited
MicroVentures, historically
195 Regulation Crowdfunding offerings and $28.5M realized, 131 of them selling Crowd Notes rather than stock. Four offerings filed in 2025 and none open on September 18, 2026. EquityZen has never had a retail channel.

Same wrapper, and only one platform says what is inside
Short answer
The structure is the same on both platforms and it is not the one most buyers picture. You do not receive shares of SpaceX or Stripe. You receive a membership interest in a limited liability company that holds those shares, and that company is the shareholder of record. EquityZen states this plainly and carves out its Direct acquisitions as the exception. MicroVentures runs the same architecture under Roman-numeral branding, currently MVP ES FUND and MVP LS FUND, which had reached 167 and 685 by September 2026. The difference that matters is upstream of the wrapper. EquityZen describes itself as a secondary marketplace: it buys from employees and early investors who want liquidity, and its economics come from standing between them and an accredited buyer. MicroVentures does not state, for any vehicle, whether the securities were acquired from the company in a financing or from an existing holder, and it separately markets an accredited investing line and a secondary trading desk without saying which vehicles belong to which.
The vehicle, side by side
| Dimension | MicroVentures | EquityZen |
|---|---|---|
| What you buy | A membership interest in a single-purpose LLC holding securities of one private company. Branded MVP ES FUND (early stage) and MVP LS FUND (late stage), numbered in Roman numerals. | A membership interest in an EquityZen Growth Technology Fund series holding one company. Direct acquisitions, where you hold the shares, are the stated exception. |
| Where the shares come from | Not disclosed for any vehicle. The site markets accredited investing and a secondary desk as separate lines without mapping vehicles to either. | Stated: a secondary marketplace for existing shareholder liquidity, buying from employees and early investors, not primary company fundraising. |
| Vehicles enumerated | 999 single-purpose vehicles, $260,740,526 reported sold, 15,282 investor positions, 2011 to 2026. | 1,943 funded vehicles, $1.578B raised, 49,950 subscription positions, 2015 to 2026. Fund I is the retail engine at 1,859 vehicles and $1.354B. |
| Median vehicle | $140,000 raised; 13 investors. Implied average subscription about $17,100 (AltStreet arithmetic on the totals). | $404,600 raised; 18 investors. Fund I average subscription $29,197; Fund II, a separate institutional product, $123,858. |
| Exemption claimed | Rule 506(b) on 870 of the 885 vehicles with a Form D in AltStreet's ledger; 873 also claim the Section 3(c)(1) exclusion, which caps a vehicle at 100 beneficial owners. | Rule 506(b) on 1,928 of the 1,929 priced vehicles in AltStreet's data layer. |
| Stated minimum | Not published for vehicles. $50,000 buyer minimum on the secondary desk per microventures.com. | $5,000 advertised after the acquisition; AltStreet observed $10,000 Standard listings and Direct listings from roughly $152,000 to $300,000 on 13 July 2026. |
| Ownership | MicroVenture Marketplace Inc., wholly owned by MicroVentures Inc., which files nothing public. CEO William Michael Clark since October 2009. | EquityZen Securities LLC, acquired by Morgan Stanley Wealth Management in January 2026. |
| Retail channel | Yes, historically: 195 Regulation Crowdfunding offerings, $28.5M realized, none open on 2026-09-18. | None. Accredited investors only, always. |
One platform publishes a fee. The other publishes none.
Short answer
EquityZen charges 2.5% to the buyer and 2.5% to the seller on a completed transaction, published on its own site and cut from a prior 5% tiered structure after the Morgan Stanley acquisition took effect in February 2026. The buyer directly bears 2.5%; the seller's half may be reflected in asking prices but is not a second charge to the buyer. Underneath that sits a second layer most buyers underweight: the vehicle itself can carry management fees and carried interest, which is a fund cost rather than a transaction cost and is disclosed per deal. MicroVentures publishes nothing. On September 18, 2026 its /fees, /pricing, /terms, /terms-of-service, /how-it-works, /docs, /legal, /tax, /investor-resources and /liquidity pages each returned 158 characters of navigation chrome and no content. The only fee AltStreet can source for MicroVentures comes from the other half of its business, where the rules force disclosure: every Regulation Crowdfunding offering's Form C states the intermediary's compensation. That was 7 percent of the amount raised on 50 offerings from 2016 to 2018 and 5 percent on 81 offerings from 2020 to 2025, with securities equal to 2 percent of the securities sold on 126 of 194 offerings, worth roughly a further 2 percent of offering value at the issue price. None of that governs a vehicle investment, which is the problem: the only priced thing on the platform is the product it has largely stopped filing.
What each platform discloses about cost
| Cost | MicroVentures | EquityZen |
|---|---|---|
| Buyer transaction fee | Not published. | 2.5% since February 2026, down from a 5% tiered structure. |
| Seller fee | Not published. | 2.5%, charged separately to the seller. AltStreet does not add the two into a single spread: the fees are struck on different sides of the trade and the seller's effect on the clearing price is not necessarily dollar for dollar. |
| Vehicle management fee and carry | Not published. The operating agreement is not public for any vehicle. | Disclosed per deal in the offering materials; a fund-level cost distinct from the transaction fee. |
| The one fee that is on the record | Regulation Crowdfunding only, from each offering's Form C: 5% cash since 2020 (7% 2016 to 2018) plus securities equal to 2% of the securities sold on 126 of 194 offerings. | Not applicable; EquityZen has no Regulation Crowdfunding book. |
| Where to read it before you commit | EDGAR, for the crowdfunding side. For a vehicle, ask in writing for the operating agreement before the call, not after. | The platform's own fee page, plus the specific deal's offering documents for fund-level terms. |
Why neither platform lets you browse, and why that matters less than it looks
Short answer
Both platforms gate their offerings, and the reason is the same exemption. 870 of the 885 MicroVentures vehicles with a Form D in AltStreet's ledger claim Rule 506(b), and so do 1,928 of the 1,929 priced EquityZen vehicles. Rule 506(b) prohibits general solicitation, so platforms relying on it typically gate access and establish an investor relationship before displaying deal materials rather than advertising offerings to the public. That is a real constraint on both firms and it is worth understanding before reading either gate as evasiveness. Where they part company is what the gate costs you. EquityZen runs an accreditation and onboarding flow and then shows you listings, so the relationship is established by the product. MicroVentures' editor test on September 18, 2026 found that completing registration and the full investor questionnaire revealed no offering at all, and the platform responded by asking for a scheduled call. The exemption explains why neither platform can advertise a deal. It does not explain why one of them will not publish a fee schedule, a terms of service or a how-it-works page, none of which 506(b) requires anyone to withhold.
The second constraint, and why MicroVentures has 999 vehicles
873 of the 885 MicroVentures vehicles also claim the Investment Company Act Section 3(c)(1) exclusion, which limits a fund to 100 beneficial owners. Two different things follow from that, and they are worth separating. The single-company, deal-specific structure is what makes the series run into the hundreds: a separate vehicle holds each company's securities, so a platform doing many deals files many Form Ds whatever the holder rules say. The 3(c)(1) cap is what helps keep each individual vehicle small, at a median of 13 investors here. EquityZen's vehicles are not uniform on this point. Of the 1,922 with a Form D in AltStreet's ledger, 1,776 claim 3(c)(1) and 150 claim 3(c)(7), the qualified-purchaser exclusion, which is not subject to the 100-holder limit. So the two platforms share the deal-specific structure and mostly share the exclusion, but EquityZen has a tranche that does not operate under the same cap.
What the Form D record does not resolve, on either side
Short answer
Both platforms have a gap between the vehicles that exist and the vehicles the filings account for, and on both it runs in the same direction: the public record understates. EquityZen's is a missing-filing problem. 20.5% of its sequentially numbered Fund I series were allocated a number but have no corresponding Form D, a rate that sat near 2% in 2018 to 2021, hit 68% for series staged between June 2022 and March 2023, and recovered to roughly 9% by 2024. AltStreet observes the absence of a filing and does not observe whether every allocated number represented a staged, investor-facing deal. MicroVentures' is an unamended-filing problem. 370 of its 999 vehicles report no sale at all on their latest Form D, and the ones examined in detail state that the first sale had not yet occurred and were never amended, so whatever they later raised never reached the record. A separate signal points the same way: the firm's audited fiscal 2025 accounts disclose $4,570,855 of placement fee revenue from the affiliated funds in that single year. Without the fee schedule applied across those vehicles that figure cannot be converted into a missing dollar amount, but it strongly indicates that the filed sold amounts materially understate the economic activity running through the vehicles. On neither platform should the enumerated figure be read as the platform's true volume.
The channel EquityZen never had, and MicroVentures has stopped filing
Short answer
This is the one dimension on which the platforms are not comparable, because only MicroVentures has it. Alongside its vehicles, MicroVentures ran a Regulation Crowdfunding book open to any investor, through its own broker-dealer registration and, from August 2016 until January 31, 2019, through an affiliated funding portal called First Democracy VC. AltStreet's census resolves 696 Form C family filings into 195 offerings by 182 issuers; 144 were funded for $28,540,887, at a median of $123,698 per offering. What retail investors bought was mostly not stock: of the 194 offerings with an initial Form C, 131 sold a Crowd Note, a convertible that becomes equity only on the triggers its own terms define, and 15 sold SAFEs, against 18 preferred and 4 common. About 25 of 194 offerings conveyed equity at the point of purchase. The channel filed 38 offerings in 2020 and 4 in 2025, and the platform's own public feed returned 145 funded offerings and none active on September 18, 2026. If you are not accredited, this is the only part of MicroVentures that was ever open to you, and it is the part that has gone quiet.
Outcomes: what each platform will tell you afterwards
| Question | MicroVentures | EquityZen |
|---|---|---|
| Published return figure | None, for any vehicle or any offering in any channel. | One: a 74% net aggregate return across realized investments. |
| Is that figure usable? | Not applicable. | Only as a headline. It excludes the unresolved portfolio, and no distribution, vintage, hold period, capital weighting or write-off treatment is disclosed. Whether a written-down company can count as realized is not established. |
| Distributions on the record | No filing on the platform's record discloses a distribution or return of capital. | Not published at vehicle level. |
| When you can actually sell | No stated term or redemption right. The secondary desk exists at a $50,000 buyer minimum but is not a market in the positions you hold. | An IPO does not mean liquidity: sale may be delayed until the later of the post-IPO lockup expiry or one year from the fund's purchase date. |
| Tax form | Not disclosed. A partnership-taxed vehicle would generally issue a Schedule K-1; the /tax page has no content. | K-1 reporting is stated up front as a feature of the SPV structure. |
Claims check
Short answer
Each platform makes a small number of checkable claims and they fail differently. EquityZen's scale claims survive enumeration: its funded-vehicle census reconciles to 1,943 vehicles and $1.578 billion from Form D, and its fee cut to 2.5% is on its own site and dated to the Morgan Stanley acquisition. Its weak claim is the performance one, a 74% net aggregate return with no published methodology. MicroVentures' problem is upstream of any single claim: it publishes two materially different lifetime capital figures on its own two websites on the same day, 'over $550M' on microventures.com and 'over $700+ million' on invest.microventures.com, with no reconciliation and no stated methodology for either. AltStreet could verify $289,281,413 sold through the platform's own offerings. That figure is a floor for the reasons set out above, so the right conclusion is that the company's numbers are unverifiable rather than overstated, and that an investor cannot use either of them.
Marketing claim against the filed record
| Claim | Platform | What AltStreet found |
|---|---|---|
| "Over $550M has been raised on our platform" | MicroVentures | Cannot be reconciled, and the same company publishes "over $700+ million" elsewhere the same day. Verified: $289,281,413 sold through its own offerings, itself a floor. Unverifiable, not disproven. |
| "Over 400 companies" since 2011 | MicroVentures | Plausible against 999 vehicles plus 182 crowdfunding issuers, but the company does not say whether it counts vehicles, issuers or both, so it cannot be checked either way. |
| "Minimums as low as $100" | MicroVentures | True of the Regulation Crowdfunding channel, which had no offering open on 2026-09-18. It does not describe the vehicles, whose minimum is not published. |
| 2.5% buyer fee | EquityZen | Published and dated to February 2026, following the January 2026 Morgan Stanley acquisition. Holds, with the seller's separate 2.5% and any fund-level terms read alongside it. |
| "74% net aggregate return" | EquityZen | Excludes the unresolved portfolio and publishes no distribution, vintage, hold period, capital weighting or write-off treatment. Not usable to underwrite a position. |
| $5,000 minimum | EquityZen | Advertised, but AltStreet observed $10,000 Standard listings on 13 July 2026 and Direct listings from roughly $152,000. Treat it as a floor across the book, not the price of the deal in front of you. |
AltStreet Terminal
Every vehicle in this guide came from a Form D filing, not a platform page
2,942 single-purpose vehicles enumerated across two platforms, each priced from its own filing, with the exemption claimed and the investor count on every one. The same data layer covers 100-plus alternative investment platforms and tells you when a new vehicle files.
Get early accessWho should choose which
Short answer
If you are an accredited investor who wants exposure to a named late-stage private company and intends to compare terms before committing, EquityZen is the platform that lets you do that: a published transaction fee, a stated source for the shares, a minimum you can see, a large enumerated book, and a Morgan Stanley parent standing behind the broker-dealer. MicroVentures is worth a conversation when it has access to a specific company you want and EquityZen does not, and the work then falls entirely on you: ask in writing for the vehicle's operating agreement, the placement fee, any carried interest, the expenses charged to the vehicle, where the securities are being acquired from, and the K-1 delivery history, and get all of it before the call rather than after. Existing MicroVentures Crowd Note holders have a different job from either: find the instrument, read what triggers conversion and whether it carries a maturity or repayment right, and check your issuer's Form C-AR history on EDGAR, because 59 of the 179 classified issuers have lapsed in their reporting and 33 never filed at all. Non-accredited investors should note that EquityZen was never open to them and MicroVentures' retail channel had nothing open in September 2026.
What this guide did not compare
- Realized outcomes. Neither platform publishes a return distribution, and EquityZen's single 74% figure has no disclosed methodology. No exit, distribution or write-off is recorded in any filing on either platform's record, so no performance comparison is possible in either direction.
- Vehicle-level terms on MicroVentures. No operating agreement, management fee, carried interest or expense schedule is public for any of its 999 vehicles, so the fee comparison in this guide is a disclosure comparison, not a cost comparison.
- Secondary execution quality. MicroVentures facilitates private company stock transactions at a $50,000 buyer minimum and publishes no pricing, volume or completed-transaction data, so its desk cannot be measured against a venue that does.
- Company-level pricing. Neither platform's valuations or bid-ask levels for a given company are compared here; that is a per-deal question and neither publishes a series.
- Litigation beyond the located record. AltStreet's scan covered web sources, BrokerCheck disclosure sections and EDGAR. PACER and state securities regulators were not searched for either platform, so an absence here is an absence of located record.
Verdict
The wrapper is substantially the same. The disclosure is not.
These two platforms predominantly use the same basic structure, a Rule 506(b) single-company vehicle in which the investor owns the vehicle rather than the underlying shares, and a buyer on either one ends up a member of an LLC rather than a shareholder of a company. From there they diverge on everything an investor can actually act on. EquityZen publishes what it charges, says where the shares come from, states that an IPO will not make you liquid, and has a book that reconciles to 1,943 vehicles and $1.578 billion of Form D filings. MicroVentures publishes no vehicle fee, no terms of service and no tax guidance, does not say whether a given vehicle bought from the company or from an employee, shows a fully registered user nothing until they book a call, and carries two irreconcilable capital totals on its own two websites. Neither platform can tell you what these positions have returned. Only one of them can tell you what they cost.
Frequently asked questions
Is MicroVentures or EquityZen better for buying pre-IPO shares?
On disclosure, EquityZen, and it is not close. EquityZen publishes its fee (2.5% from the buyer and 2.5% from the seller since February 2026), states plainly that it is a secondary marketplace buying from existing shareholders rather than from the company, and its 1,943 vehicles have been enumerated from Form D to $1.578 billion across 49,950 subscription positions. MicroVentures publishes no fee schedule for its vehicles anywhere on either of its websites, does not state for any vehicle whether the securities came from the company or from an existing holder, and 370 of its 999 vehicles report no sale on a Form D that was never amended. On scale EquityZen is roughly twice the vehicle count and six times the capital. The one thing MicroVentures offers that EquityZen does not is a Regulation Crowdfunding history open to non-accredited investors, and that channel filed four offerings in 2025 and had none open in September 2026.
Do you own shares of the company on either platform?
Usually not. On both platforms the standard product is a membership interest in a single-purpose LLC that holds the securities of one private company. The LLC is the shareholder of record; you are a member of the LLC. EquityZen says so explicitly and carves out its Direct acquisitions as the exception. MicroVentures' vehicles are structured the same way, each with its own CIK and its own Form D, currently branded MVP ES FUND and MVP LS FUND and numbered in Roman numerals to 167 and 685 by September 2026. What follows from the structure on both: the vehicle's manager votes and receives distributions, the vehicle's operating agreement governs what you can be charged, and a partnership-taxed vehicle generally issues a Schedule K-1 on its own timetable.
What do MicroVentures and EquityZen charge?
EquityZen charges 2.5% to the buyer and 2.5% to the seller on a completed transaction, cut from a prior 5% tiered structure after Morgan Stanley Wealth Management acquired the company in January 2026. The buyer directly bears 2.5%; the seller-side fee may be reflected in asking prices but is not an additional charge to the buyer. MicroVentures publishes no fee schedule for its Regulation D vehicles, and its /fees, /pricing, /terms and seven other pages each returned navigation chrome and no content on September 18, 2026. The only MicroVentures fee AltStreet can source is on the other side of its business: every Regulation Crowdfunding offering's Form C discloses the intermediary's compensation, which was 7 percent of the amount raised on 50 offerings from 2016 to 2018 and 5 percent on 81 offerings from 2020 to 2025, plus securities equal to 2 percent of the securities sold on 126 of 194 offerings. That tells you nothing directly about vehicle fees, which is the point.
Why can't I browse offerings on either platform without registering?
Because of the exemption both rely on. 870 of the 885 MicroVentures vehicles with a Form D in AltStreet's ledger claim Rule 506(b), and 1,928 of the 1,929 priced EquityZen vehicles do too. Rule 506(b) prohibits general solicitation, so neither firm may advertise these offerings to the public, and platforms relying on it typically gate access and establish an investor relationship before showing deal materials. The two platforms do that very differently. EquityZen puts you through an accreditation and onboarding flow and then shows you listings. MicroVentures' editor test on September 18, 2026 found that completing registration and the investor questionnaire revealed no offerings at all, and the platform asked for a scheduled call instead. The exemption constrains both; it does not require the call.
How big is each platform, really?
EquityZen: 1,943 funded vehicles enumerated from SEC Form D, $1.578 billion raised across 49,950 subscription positions from 2015 to 2026, with Fund I as the retail engine at 1,859 vehicles and $1.354 billion. MicroVentures: 999 single-purpose vehicles reporting $260,740,526 sold across 15,282 investor positions since 2011. Across the vehicles each platform prices in AltStreet's data layer, EquityZen's median vehicle raised $404,600 against MicroVentures' $140,000, and EquityZen's median investor count per vehicle is 18 against MicroVentures' 13. Both numbers are floors. EquityZen has 20.5% of its sequentially numbered Fund I series allocated with no corresponding Form D; MicroVentures has 370 of 999 vehicles reporting no sale on a filing that was never amended.
Does either platform publish returns?
EquityZen publishes one figure, a 74% net aggregate return across realized investments, and it needs every caveat AltStreet can attach: it excludes the unresolved portion of the portfolio, and the company does not disclose the return distribution, vintage composition, hold periods, capital weighting, or how write-offs are treated. Whether a written-down company can still count as a realized exit is not established. MicroVentures publishes no return, exit or write-off figure for any vehicle or any offering in any channel, and no filing on its record discloses a distribution to investors. One vague number with unpublished methodology is more than none, but neither platform gives an investor a distribution of outcomes to underwrite against.
What is MicroVentures' crowdfunding business, and does EquityZen have one?
EquityZen has none; it is accredited-only and always has been. MicroVentures ran a Regulation Crowdfunding book open to everyone, through its own broker-dealer registration and, from 2016 until January 31, 2019, through an affiliated funding portal called First Democracy VC. AltStreet's census resolves 696 Form C family filings into 195 offerings by 182 issuers, of which 144 were funded for $28,540,887. What retail investors mostly bought was not stock: 131 of the 194 offerings with an initial Form C sold a Crowd Note, a convertible that becomes equity only on the triggers its own terms define. That channel filed 38 offerings in 2020 and 4 in 2025, and the platform's own public feed showed none active on September 18, 2026.
Which has the better regulatory record?
Both are SEC-registered broker-dealers and FINRA members with long operating histories, and AltStreet located no SEC enforcement action or investor class action against either. MicroVentures carries one FINRA disciplinary event: a letter of acceptance, waiver and consent dated December 30, 2019, censure and a $40,000 fine for failing to make the private placement memorandum filings required by Rule 5123 on twenty offerings in 2017, consented to without admitting or denying. It is small and old, and it is directly on point for the business the firm mostly does. EquityZen's material change is ownership rather than discipline: Morgan Stanley Wealth Management acquired it in January 2026, which puts a large regulated parent behind the platform. MicroVentures' parent, MicroVentures Inc., files nothing public. PACER and state securities regulators were not searched for either platform.
Sources and method
MicroVentures figures come from AltStreet's September 18, 2026 build: a Regulation D universe assembled from EDGAR full-text search for Form D filings naming MicroVenture Marketplace, sliced by year to beat the 1,000-result cap and priced from each issuer's latest filing; a Form C census across CIK 1478147 and CIK 1683054 resolving 696 filings into 195 offerings by 182 issuers, of which 194 opened with an initial Form C and one is known only from a progress update whose initial filing is absent from AltStreet's ledger, which is why counts drawn from the initial filings are stated against 194 and counts of offerings against 195; the intermediary compensation clause read from each offering's initial Form C; the audited Form X-17A-5 for fiscal 2025; the FINRA BrokerCheck report for CRD 152513; and scrapes of microventures.com and invest.microventures.com. EquityZen figures come from AltStreet's funded-vehicle census, enumerated from SEC Form D via quarterly master index enumeration rather than sampling, covering Growth Technology Fund LLC and II, Growth Access Fund LLC, Growth Opportunity Funds II to XI, Thematic Fund LLC and the pre-2016 per-company legacy vehicles, together with the platform's own fee and offering documentation and Morgan Stanley's acquisition announcements. Exemption counts are taken from the Form D filings themselves. Company-reported figures are labeled as such throughout and are not verified.
