Amber Farmland vs AcreTrader 2026
Amber means Amber Farmland Investments PBC, formerly Iroquois Valley Farmland REIT (renamed September 2, 2026): an organic and regenerative farmland REIT. AcreTrader means AcreTrader's farm LLC offerings and, in its own labeled section, the Proterra Acretrader Farmland Fund LP.
Amber sells one diversified farmland portfolio to any investor, priced by its board, with a capped redemption program after five years. AcreTrader sells accredited investors individual farms, whose principal exit generally depends on a sale, plus a pooled fund for larger investors.
Guide Thesis
Amber is a farmland portfolio anyone can buy. AcreTrader is farms an accredited investor picks.
Start here
What you actually own: REIT shares, a farm LLC or a fund
The first question is whether you are buying a portfolio or a farm, and whether you are allowed to buy the farm at all.
| Investment | What you own | Who can buy, minimum | How you get out | Tax form |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amber Farmland REIT shares | Common stock of one REIT: 78 farms, 39 mortgages, 18 states | Anyone, from $10,000 (non-accredited within Reg A limits) | Quarterly redemption requests after 5 years, 1.5% cap per window; board can suspend | 1099-DIV |
| AcreTrader farm offering | Interests in a farm LLC; one farm and operator in the offerings reviewed | Accredited only, from $15,000 | Rent along the way; principal exit generally on the farm's sale, typically 5 to 10 years | Schedule K-1 |
| AcreTrader diversified fund (Proterra Acretrader Farmland Fund LP) | LP interests in a pooled farmland fund | Accredited only, from $150,000 | Quarterly withdrawal requests after 24 months; 5% gate | Schedule K-1 |
| Amber notes (Rooted in Regeneration Series 3) | Notes of the operating company at 0.5% or 1.5%, not REIT equity | Accredited only, from $25,000 | At maturity | Interest reporting |
TL;DR
The comparison in two sentences
Amber (formerly Iroquois Valley) is a diversified farmland REIT anyone can buy from $10,000, whose board-set value is down four valuations in a row, whose dividends are below 1%, whose tenant and mortgage book took losses in 2025, and whose capped redemption program paid out about its estimated capacity in early 2026. AcreTrader sells accredited investors individual farms from $15,000, with a reported 7.6% median net IRR on its sold managed farms, layered fees, K-1s and a principal exit that generally waits for a sale.
If you read nothing else: jump to lockups and redemptions →

At a glance
Side-by-side at a glance
| Feature | Amber Farmland (formerly Iroquois Valley) | AcreTrader (farm offerings) |
|---|---|---|
| Company | Amber Farmland Investments PBC, a Delaware public benefit corporation taxed as a REIT; founded 2007; Roanoke, Indiana | AcreTrader, founded 2018, Fayetteville, Arkansas; owned by Proterra Investment Partners since August 2025 |
| Exemption / access | Regulation A Tier 2; $10,000; non-accredited allowed | Rule 506(c); $15,000; accredited only |
| Pricing | Board-set NAV, semiannual: $107.57 (June 30, 2026, in effect from August 17) | Manager valuation; realized at sale |
| Record | About 0.6%/yr (3 yrs), 7.3%/yr (5 yrs) on valuation dates; see the calculation table | Sold managed farms: median net IRR 7.6%, median hold 4.2 years (unsold offerings excluded) |
| Costs | No separately charged fees; company overhead about 3.5% of average NAV-basis equity | 0.75% management fee; 4.3% to 11.4% upfront; up to 5% on sale |
| Getting out | Redemption requests after 5 years; 1.5% cap per quarterly window | Principal exit generally on the farm's sale, typically 5 to 10 years |
| Tax form / audit | 1099-DIV; Plante & Moran, unmodified | Schedule K-1; farm LLCs unaudited |
| AltStreet score | 5.0 (C+) | 5.4 (B-) |
Head-to-head
Amber REIT vs AcreTrader farms, factor by factor
Six factors comparing Amber's REIT shares with AcreTrader's farm offerings, with the supporting calculations beside each. AcreTrader's diversified fund follows in its own section.
Shares of a perpetual farmland REIT vs interests in a farm LLC
Amber vs AcreTrader: Portfolio REIT or Individual Farm
Amber Farmland Investments PBC is a Delaware public benefit corporation taxed as a REIT, internally managed, holding farmland through its operating company. Its May 2026 circular counted 78 farms, 39 mortgages, 66 farmers and 18 states, the largest farmer at 6.5% of invested assets and no vacancies at March 31, 2026. Leases are three-year evergreen terms, and farmers can generally buy their land after seven years. AcreTrader forms a separate LLC for each offering (the 2026 Argyle offering in Minnesota was its first limited liability partnership), raises equity under Rule 506(c) and manages the farm through AcreTrader Management; Proterra Investment Partners acquired AcreTrader on August 4, 2025. AltStreet tracks about 140 AcreTrader Form D offerings in 15 or more states. In the offering documents AltStreet reviewed, each LLC held one farm property leased to one operator.
Practical answer
Amber is one diversified holding you cannot steer. AcreTrader offerings are individual farm investments you choose one at a time, each concentrated in its property and operator, with a separate pooled fund for larger accredited investors.
| Decision factor | What changes |
|---|---|
| What you own | Amber: common stock of one REIT. AcreTrader: interests in a farm LLC (or LP interests in the diversified fund). |
| Portfolio | Amber: 78 farms, 39 mortgages, 18 states. AcreTrader: one farm per offering in the documents reviewed; about 140 offerings to date. |
| Who picks the farms | Amber: the board. AcreTrader: the investor, offering by offering. |
| Manager | Amber: internally managed; seven directors, five independent. AcreTrader: AcreTrader Management, owned by Proterra since August 2025. |
$10,000 open to non-accredited investors vs $15,000 for verified accredited investors
Amber vs AcreTrader: Who Can Invest and How Much
Amber's Regulation A Tier 2 offering (file 024-12624, $65 million, requalified June 3, 2026) is sold directly, with no selling commission, from $10,000 to accredited and non-accredited investors, the latter limited to 10% of the greater of income or net worth; shares can be held in an IRA through a self-directed custodian. Its notes, including the Series 3 Rooted in Regeneration notes from $25,000, and its 721 exchange program are accredited-only. AcreTrader's farm offerings start at $15,000 under Rule 506(c), so every investor must be verified as accredited; its diversified fund starts at $150,000 (Class A) or $1 million (institutional).
Practical answer
For a non-accredited investor, Amber is the option of the two. For an accredited investor with $10,000 to $25,000, the choice is a slice of a portfolio or a chosen farm.
| Decision factor | What changes |
|---|---|
| Minimum | Amber: $10,000. AcreTrader: $15,000 per farm; $150,000 for the diversified fund. |
| Non-accredited | Amber: yes, within Reg A limits. AcreTrader: no. |
| IRA | Amber: through a self-directed custodian. AcreTrader: possible through a self-directed custodian; K-1 income can raise UBTI questions. |
A board-valued REIT measured over fixed windows vs IRRs on farms already sold
Amber vs AcreTrader: What Each Return Record Measures
Amber's board values the shares twice a year: $117.00 at June 30, 2024 and $107.57 at June 30, 2026, after four consecutive reductions. AltStreet measures Amber on the board's valuation at each measurement date plus dividends attributed to the fiscal years in the window, without reinvestment: about 0.6% a year over the three years to June 30, 2026, 7.3% over five and 4.0% since the end of 2016. The company's update states 3% for three years and 7.5% for five; those figures are reproduced, to within rounding, by using the prices in effect for transactions on the measurement dates instead, because each valuation takes effect weeks after its valuation date (the table below shows both). AcreTrader's Historical Exits document, restated August 6, 2026, lists 84 realized offerings: 76 managed farms, 75 of them positive, with a median net IRR of 7.6%, a mean of 8.6%, a median multiple of 1.35x and a median hold of 4.2 years; 60 of those sold in 2026 at a 7.0% mean. Its external program, discontinued in 2024, lost money on every exit with a reported IRR. The two records answer different questions. Amber's is the whole REIT's value change over set periods, including everything it still holds. AcreTrader's covers only offerings that have been sold, each over its own holding period, and excludes the roughly 55 offerings still held.
Practical answer
Amber's recent record, on its own valuations, is close to flat over three years and higher over five. AcreTrader's sold managed farms show a 7.6% median net IRR, with returns lower in the 2026 sales than in earlier cohorts. Because one is a fixed-window portfolio return and the other is a set of completed-deal IRRs, the numbers describe each platform's record but do not rank them.
| Decision factor | What changes |
|---|---|
| Cash yield | Amber: dividends below 1% of share price. AcreTrader: modeled net cash about 1.5% to 3.3%; first payment about 14 months in. |
| Valuation | Amber: board-set NAV, semiannual. AcreTrader: manager valuations; realized at sale. |
| Record | Amber: about 0.6%/yr (3 years), 7.3%/yr (5 years), 4.0%/yr since 2016, AltStreet arithmetic on valuation dates. AcreTrader: 76 sold managed farms, median net IRR 7.6%, as reported by AcreTrader. |
| What the record covers | Amber: the whole REIT over fixed windows. AcreTrader: completed sales only; unsold offerings excluded. |
Calculation table
Amber's returns, two methods
Valuation-date method (AltStreet's): the board's valuation as of each measurement date, or the most recent prior valuation where there is none on that date. Transaction-price method: the price at which shares could be bought or redeemed on that date; each valuation takes effect weeks after its valuation date (the June 30, 2026 value of $107.57 applied from August 17). Dividends are those the circular assigns to the fiscal years in the window, plus the $282,927 paid in the first half of 2026 (about $0.25 a share), which the circular's $0.47 for 2025 excludes; they are added at face value without reinvestment. Sources: offering circular, May 2026 (share price and dividend table), June 2023, December 2025 and June 2026 valuation supplements, Form 1-SA, June 30, 2026.
| Window to June 30, 2026 | Method | Start | End | Dividends | Annualized |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 years | Valuation date | $107.00 (June 30, 2023 valuation) | $107.57 | $1.23 (FY2023 $0.51, FY2024 none, FY2025 $0.47, 2026 payment $0.25) | 0.56% |
| 3 years | Transaction price | $100.00 (December 2022 value, in effect on June 30, 2023) | $108.06 (December 2025 value, in effect on June 30, 2026) | $1.23 | 3.01%; company states 3% |
| 5 years | Valuation date | $77.25 (December 2020 valuation, the latest at June 30, 2021) | $107.57 | $2.31 (FY2021 to FY2025, plus the 2026 payment) | 7.30% |
| 5 years | Transaction price | $77.25 | $108.06 | $2.31 | 7.40%; company states 7.5% |
| Since December 31, 2016 | Valuation date | $76.88 | $107.57 | $4.19 | 4.02% |
The three-year gap between 0.6% and 3% comes almost entirely from the start price: the June 2023 revaluation to $107.00 had not yet taken effect on June 30, 2023, so a buyer that day paid $100.00. Both figures are arithmetic on the company's own prices; they answer different questions (what the board valued the shares at, versus what an investor could transact at).
An overhead ratio on a company's equity vs fees charged to each farm LLC on different bases
Amber vs AcreTrader: Company Overhead and Offering Fees
Amber charges no separately stated management, performance, sales or redemption fee, and its offering costs are under 1%. What shareholders bear instead is company-level overhead: employee expenses ($1.67 million), general and administrative ($1.57 million) and professional fees ($1.09 million), together $4.33 million in 2025, about 3.5% of average NAV-basis equity. In 2025 revenue of $3.85 million did not cover $5.68 million of operating expenses, and $3.95 million of gains on farm sales produced the year's $539,755 net income. AcreTrader's 2026 offering documents charge each farm LLC a 0.75% annual management fee on the greater of equity raised or the farm's fair market value, a land due diligence fee of 1.46% to 5.88% of the purchase price, and a disposition fee of up to 5% of the gross sale price, modeled at the full 5% in eight consecutive offerings; closing, placement, due diligence, working capital and legal costs together took 4.27% to 11.41% of the amount raised. Each farm's own expenses are paid from its income, as each offering's documents set out. The diversified fund charges 1.25% a year (Class A) or 1.15% of the capital account, up to $200 per gross acre on acquisitions and up to 5% of the gross sale price on dispositions.
Practical answer
The 3.5% overhead ratio and the 0.75% management fee are not the same kind of number: one is a company's operating costs over its equity, the other is a contractual fee on a defined base. Within AcreTrader, the upfront and disposition fees outweigh eight years of management fees in each case worked below.
| Decision factor | What changes |
|---|---|
| Ongoing | Amber: company overhead, about 3.5% of average NAV-basis equity (2025). AcreTrader farm: 0.75% management fee on the greater of equity or fair market value, plus the farm's own expenses. |
| Upfront | Amber: offering costs under 1%; no sales commission. AcreTrader farm: 4.27% to 11.41% of the raise in recent offerings. |
| On exit | Amber: no redemption fee. AcreTrader farm: up to 5% of gross sale price. |
| Carried interest | Amber: none. AcreTrader farm: none in the 2026 offering documents AltStreet read. |
Worked example
AcreTrader fees on $15,000 over an eight-year hold
AltStreet arithmetic. Assumptions: the farm's value at purchase equals the raise less upfront costs; the management fee is 0.75% a year of the greater of the $15,000 raised or the farm's value; the disposition fee is charged at the full 5% of the sale price, as eight consecutive offering documents model; the farm's own operating expenses and rent are left out. Upfront costs and the 6% appreciation rate are the ends of the range and the Argyle offering's modeled rate from the 2026 documents.
| Case | Upfront costs | Management fees, 8 years | Disposition fee | Upfront + disposition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upfront 4.27%, land value flat | $641 | $900 | $718 | $1,359 |
| Upfront 4.27%, land up 6% a year | $641 | $1,130 | $1,144 | $1,785 |
| Upfront 11.41%, land up 6% a year | $1,712 | $1,053 | $1,059 | $2,771 |
In each case the one-time fees at entry and exit exceed eight years of management fees. Amber's overhead is not shown here because it is a company's operating cost over its equity, not a fee on a comparable base.
A capped quarterly redemption program after five years vs a sale-dependent exit
Amber vs AcreTrader: Lockups, Redemptions and Getting Out
Amber shareholders become eligible to redeem after five years. Redemptions run in quarterly windows, each capped at 'not more than 1.5% ... of the number of shares ... outstanding', pro-rated when requests exceed the cap, at the board's current price; the board can amend, suspend or end the program on 30 days' notice. Amber redeemed $357,052 of shares in 2024, $1,864,571 in 2025 and, in the first half of 2026, 34,240 shares for $3.77 million at an average of about $109.97. The 1.5% cap on the 1,131,003 shares outstanding at December 31, 2025 equals about 16,965 shares a window, or 33,930 for two, so redemptions were roughly equal to the estimated capacity of the two windows; the company does not disclose requests, pro-ration or unmet demand. It has budgeted $6.0 million for redemptions through May 2027. For an AcreTrader farm, rent distributions arrive along the way, but the principal exit generally depends on the manager selling the farm, typically after five to ten years, and a drag-along binds members to a sale. The diversified fund allows withdrawal requests each quarter on 90 days' notice after a 24-month lock-up, subject to a 5% fund-level gate, an audit holdback and the general partner's right to suspend or pay out over time.
Practical answer
Redemption eligibility is not an immediate exit: Amber's program is a capped, suspendable way to request cash, and its first-half 2026 redemptions were about equal to the cap's estimated capacity. An AcreTrader farm offers no request mechanism; the exit is the sale, on the manager's timing.
| Decision factor | What changes |
|---|---|
| Lockup | Amber: redemption eligible after 5 years. AcreTrader farm: until sale, typically 5 to 10 years. Fund: 24 months. |
| Mechanism | Amber: quarterly windows, 1.5% cap each, pro-rated. AcreTrader farm: manager-timed sale; drag-along. Fund: quarterly withdrawal requests, 5% gate. |
| Recent use | Amber: 34,240 shares ($3.77M) in H1 2026, about the estimated capacity of two windows. AcreTrader: 60 managed farm sales in 2026. |
| Secondary market | Neither. |
A diversified book with defined credit categories vs single-operator farm offerings; a 1099 vs a K-1
Amber vs AcreTrader: Tenant and Credit Risk, Tax and Oversight
Amber's 2025 shows tenant trouble inside a portfolio: five tenants in default, $980,497 of write-offs and a 37% fall in leasing revenue; rent rose 11% in the first half of 2026. Its mortgages are rated in four internal categories: performing; watch, which the company defines as payments 90 days or more past due; at-risk, 'borrowers whose paying capacity makes full collection questionable'; and default. The breakdown is in the table below. The performing share rose from 47% to 60% between December 2025 and June 2026 while the book shrank by $3.0 million, so the change reflects repayments and resolutions as well as ratings; it does not by itself establish recovery. Amber is sunsetting the mortgage product, and loans were required to be secured by farmland appraised at 1.33 times the loan at origination. The operating company also owes $26.6 million of 1% to 4% notes, $21.3 million maturing in 2026 and 2027, against an undrawn $15 million revolver. Plante & Moran issued unmodified opinions on 2024 and 2025. At AcreTrader, the offerings AltStreet reviewed each had a single operator on a cash or flex lease, sometimes a sale-leaseback with the seller; the farm LLCs are not audited, and the diversified fund is audited by Ernst & Young.
Practical answer
Amber spreads tenant and credit risk and reports it in audited statements, and those statements show the risk realized in 2025. An AcreTrader farm offering concentrates it in its operator, with unaudited farm-level reporting. Tax paperwork follows the structure: a 1099 for the REIT, a K-1 for each farm.
| Decision factor | What changes |
|---|---|
| Tenant concentration | Amber: largest farmer 6.5% of invested assets. AcreTrader farm: one operator in the offerings reviewed. |
| Audit | Amber: Plante & Moran, unmodified. AcreTrader: farm LLCs unaudited; fund audited by Ernst & Young. |
| Tax form | Amber: 1099-DIV by January 31. AcreTrader: Schedule K-1, typically by early March; state filings possible. |
| AltStreet score | Amber: 5.0 (C+). AcreTrader: 5.4 (B-). |
Amber's mortgage ratings
Internal credit categories, two dates
From the FY2025 Form 1-K and the June 2026 Form 1-SA. Categories are Amber's own: loans outside "performing" are not all in default.
| Category (Amber's definition) | December 31, 2025 | June 30, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Performing | $10,688,230 (47%) | $11,875,099 (60%) |
| Watch: payments 90 days or more past due | $4,671,868 | $3,544,031 |
| At-risk: paying capacity makes full collection questionable | $4,278,157 | $2,658,493 |
| Default | $3,292,947 | $1,854,040 |
| Total mortgages | $22,931,202 | $19,931,662 |
| Allowance for credit losses | $107,991 | $346,046 |
AcreTrader's diversified option
The Proterra Acretrader Farmland Fund LP
AcreTrader is not only a farm-by-farm platform. Since the Proterra acquisition it has offered a pooled fund that invests through a REIT subsidiary and can buy a majority of the units in AcreTrader's own farm offerings. It is the closer structural match to Amber, but it is accredited-only, its minimum is fifteen times Amber's, and it charges an explicit management fee.
| Term | Proterra Acretrader Farmland Fund LP | Amber Farmland REIT, for comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Access / minimum | Rule 506(c), accredited only; $150,000 (Class A), $1,000,000 (institutional) | Regulation A, non-accredited allowed; $10,000 |
| Annual cost | Management fee 1.25% (Class A) or 1.15% of the capital account | No separate fee; company overhead about 3.5% of average NAV-basis equity |
| Transaction fees | Up to $200 per gross acre on acquisitions; up to 5% of gross sale price on dispositions | None separately charged |
| Target income | '2% - 4%' net cash income (offering memorandum) | Dividends below 1% of share price |
| Liquidity | Quarterly withdrawal requests on 90 days' notice after a 24-month lock-up; 5% fund-level gate; audit holdback; the general partner can suspend or pay out over time | Quarterly redemption requests after 5 years; 1.5% cap per window; board can suspend |
| Audit / tax form | Ernst & Young; Schedule K-1 | Plante & Moran; 1099-DIV |
Both pooled vehicles let an investor request cash on a schedule, and both can limit or suspend payment. Neither request mechanism is a guaranteed exit date.
Final read
Bottom line
For a non-accredited investor, Amber is the farmland option of the two, and the questions are its flat recent record on its board's valuations, its mortgage and tenant credit, and how much room its redemption cap leaves. For an accredited investor, the choice is between a diversified REIT you cannot steer and individual farms you choose, whose sold managed offerings report a 7.6% median net IRR, paid for in upfront and sale fees, concentration and a sale-dependent exit.
Both are long-term land investments that pay little cash along the way, and neither has a market to sell into. Amber's redemption program is a way to request cash, not a promise of it; an AcreTrader farm's principal generally comes back when it is sold. Size either as money you will not need for most of a decade.
Primary sources
Sources and access
Amber Farmland Investments (SEC EDGAR, public)
- ›Offering circular (1-A POS, May 12, 2026): Portfolio, share price and dividend table, redemption program terms, lending policy.
- ›Form 1-K, FY2025: Overhead components, revenue, farm-sale gains, tenant write-offs, mortgage ratings; Plante & Moran opinion.
- ›Form 1-SA, June 30, 2026: Shares redeemed (34,240.425), dividends paid in 2026, mortgage ratings, notes and revolver.
- ›Valuation supplement (253G2), August 17, 2026: June 30, 2026 NAV of $107.57 and its effective date.
- ›Rename supplement (253G2), September 9, 2026: Iroquois Valley to Amber Farmland Investments, effective September 2, 2026.
- ›Form D, Series 3 notes (CIK 1516957): Rooted in Regeneration notes under Rule 506(c).
AcreTrader
- ›Historical Exits document (restated August 6, 2026): 84 realized offerings with net IRRs, multiples and holds as reported by AcreTrader. Provided to registered AcreTrader users; not publicly linkable.
- ›2026 farm offering documents (private placement memoranda): fees, rent yields, distribution timing and pro forma holds. Available to verified accredited investors through AcreTrader; not publicly linkable.
- ›Proterra Acretrader Farmland Fund LP offering memorandum (2026): minimums, fees, target income, lock-up, withdrawal and gate terms. Available to accredited investors; not publicly linkable.
- ›SEC EDGAR Form D filings: about 140 farm offerings under Rule 506(c), one filer per farm LLC.
FAQs
Amber Farmland vs AcreTrader: Common questions
How does Amber Farmland compare with AcreTrader?+
They sell different things. Amber Farmland Investments PBC sells shares of one perpetual farmland REIT (78 farms and 39 mortgages in 18 states per its May 2026 circular) from $10,000 to accredited and non-accredited investors under Regulation A. AcreTrader sells interests in individual farm LLCs from $15,000 to accredited investors only under Rule 506(c), and runs a separate diversified fund for accredited investors from $150,000. AltStreet scores Amber 5.0 (C+) and AcreTrader 5.4 (B-).
Is Amber Farmland the same company as Iroquois Valley?+
Yes. Iroquois Valley Farmland REIT, PBC renamed itself Amber Farmland Investments PBC effective September 2, 2026, and Iroquois Valley Farms LLC became Amber Farmland Investments LLC. The offering supplement says 'all rights and obligations of the Company remain unchanged': the same shares, farms, redemption program and SEC filing history (CIK 1706350 for the REIT, 1516957 for the operating company).
Am I buying an entire portfolio or an interest in one farm?+
With Amber, a portfolio: each share is a slice of every farm and mortgage the REIT holds, and the largest farmer was 6.5% of invested assets in the May 2026 circular. With an AcreTrader farm offering, the offering documents AltStreet reviewed each covered one farm property leased to one operator, so that property's rent and sale price drive the investment. AcreTrader's diversified fund, the Proterra Acretrader Farmland Fund LP, is a pooled option for accredited investors from $150,000.
Which farmland investments accept non-accredited investors?+
Amber's Regulation A offering does, from $10,000, subject to the Regulation A limit of 10% of the greater of annual income or net worth; Amber's notes and 721 exchange program are accredited-only. AcreTrader's farm offerings and its diversified fund are sold under Rule 506(c) to verified accredited investors only ($200,000 of income, or $1 million of net worth excluding a primary residence).
Can I choose the farms, crops or locations?+
On AcreTrader, yes: each offering names its farm, state, crop and lease terms, and the investor chooses offering by offering. On Amber, no: the board decides what the REIT buys and sells, and a shareholder owns the whole book, including its mortgages.
How do Amber's dividends compare with AcreTrader's rental distributions and land appreciation?+
Both pay little cash relative to the amount invested; most of the expected return is land value. Amber's dividends have been below 1% of its share price each year ($0.47 a share for 2025 before a spillover of about $0.25 paid in 2026; none for 2024). AcreTrader farms pay an annual December distribution 'when available', the first usually about 14 months after funding; recent offering documents show opening gross rent yields of 3.2% to 5.0% on purchase price and modeled net cash yields of about 1.5% to 3.3%. See the returns section for how the two records are measured.
When can I get my money back?+
From Amber, after five years, by requesting redemption in a quarterly window; each window is capped at 1.5% of shares outstanding and pro-rated if requests exceed it, and the board can amend, suspend or end the program on 30 days' notice, so eligibility does not guarantee an immediate exit. From an AcreTrader farm, interim rent distributions aside, the principal exit generally depends on the manager selling the farm, typically after five to ten years; recent offering documents model about eight. Neither has a secondary market. AcreTrader's diversified fund allows quarterly withdrawal requests after a 24-month lock-up, subject to a 5% fund-level gate and suspension.
How does Amber's redemption program differ from waiting for an AcreTrader farm sale?+
Amber's program lets each eligible shareholder request cash on a schedule, at the board's current price, within a shared quarterly cap of 1.5% of shares. In the first half of 2026 it redeemed 34,240 shares for about $3.77 million, roughly equal to two windows' capacity measured on year-end share counts; the number of requests and any unmet demand are not disclosed. An AcreTrader farm investor has no redemption request to make: the investment ends when the manager sells the farm, for all investors at once, at the sale price less a disposition fee of up to 5%.
How do operating expenses and investment fees compare?+
They are different kinds of cost on different bases. Amber charges no separately stated management, performance, sales or redemption fee; its company-level overhead (employees, general and administrative, professional fees) was $4.33 million in 2025, about 3.5% of average NAV-basis equity. AcreTrader farm offerings charge a 0.75% annual management fee on the greater of equity raised or the farm's fair market value, a land due diligence fee of 1.46% to 5.88% of the purchase price, upfront costs that took 4.3% to 11.4% of the amount raised in recent offerings, and a disposition fee of up to 5% of the gross sale price; each farm's own expenses are paid from its income. The fee section works through an example.
What tax documents will I receive from Amber and AcreTrader?+
Amber sends a Form 1099-DIV by January 31; REIT dividends can be ordinary income, capital gain or return of capital. AcreTrader farm LLCs send a Schedule K-1 (Form 1065), typically by early March and sometimes later, and a farm in another state can mean a state return there. On 1031 exchanges: Section 1031 covers real property exchanged by its owner. In an AcreTrader farm LLC the LLC owns the land, and an investor's LLC interest is generally not real property for 1031 purposes, so an investor should not assume the interest can be exchanged. AcreTrader's website presents its whole-farm purchase service, which is separate from the LLC offerings, as 1031-compatible.
What happens if a tenant stops paying rent?+
At Amber the loss is spread across the portfolio, and it has been material: in 2025 five tenants were in default, the REIT wrote off $980,497 and leasing revenue fell 37%; rent rose 11% in the first half of 2026. In an AcreTrader farm offering with a single operator, that farm's distribution depends on that operator's rent until the manager enforces the lease or re-leases the land. The AcreTrader materials AltStreet reviewed do not describe a tenant default or how one was handled.
Is Amber Farmland or AcreTrader a better investment?+
It depends on what you can buy and want to hold. A non-accredited investor, or one who wants one diversified holding with a redemption program and a 1099, has Amber, whose recent record on its board's valuations is close to flat and whose credit book is still being worked out. An accredited investor who wants to pick individual farms and accept concentration, a sale-dependent exit, layered fees and K-1s has AcreTrader, whose sold managed farms report a 7.6% median net IRR. The two records measure different things, so neither number ranks the platforms. Both carry the risk of loss.
Related research
Keep comparing farmland platforms
Platform Review
Amber Farmland Investments Review
Formerly Iroquois Valley Farmland REIT: share prices, returns on stated methods, the mortgage book, redemption limits and the notes program.
Platform Review
AcreTrader Review
84 realized offerings from the Historical Exits document, the 2026 offering fees, the Proterra acquisition and the diversified fund.
Comparison Guide
AcreTrader vs FarmTogether vs Steward
Farmland equity, farm debt and single-farm offerings compared.
Comparison Guide
AcreTrader vs Harvest Returns
Two accredited farmland platforms with different farm types and structures.
Category Guide
Farmland
Category coverage of farmland REITs, single-farm offerings, farm debt and funds.
