CrowdStreet REIT I NAV Falls 12.9% to $668.85, but $75.22 a Share of That Was Distributions
A semi-annual filing shows net asset value down $99.12 a share in the first half of 2026. Distributions account for $75.22 of the fall and operations for $23.90, and the fund's own reported total return is -3.16%.
Key facts
6- NAV per share fell from $767.97 (2025-12-31) to $668.85 (2026-06-30), down $99.12 or about 12.9%, per Form N-CSRS accession 0001999371-26-019951 filed 2026-09-04.
- Distributions of $3,499,853, about $75.22 a share, account for roughly 9.8 of those 12.9 percentage points.
- The net decrease in net assets from operations was $1,112,025, about $23.90 a share, and included $2,387,865 of net unrealised depreciation.
- Those two components sum exactly to the $4,611,878 decline in net assets, from $35,732,226 to $31,120,348.
- The fund's reported total return for the six months was -3.16%, following +1.21% for full-year 2025.
- Shares outstanding were roughly 46,528 at both period ends, so the per-share change does not reflect subscriptions or redemptions.
CrowdStreet REIT I, Inc. reported net asset value of $668.85 per share at June 30, 2026, down from $767.97 six months earlier, in a semi-annual report filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on September 4, 2026 (Form N-CSRS, accession 0001999371-26-019951). The decline is $99.12 a share, or 12.9%.
Most of it was paid to shareholders. The same filing reports distributions of $3,499,853 over the six months, which on the fund's roughly 46,528 shares is $75.22 a share, and a net decrease from operations of $1,112,025, which is $23.90 a share. Those two figures reconcile exactly to the $4,611,878 fall in net assets. The fund's own reported total return for the period is -3.16%, not -12.9%.
What the filing shows
Net assets fell from $35,732,226 to $31,120,348. Share count was effectively unchanged across the period at about 46,528, so the per-share movement is not a function of subscriptions or redemptions.
The decrease from operations of $1,112,025 includes $2,387,865 of net unrealised depreciation on portfolio holdings, meaning income and realized results partly offset the markdowns. The distribution of $3,499,853 is the larger component of the net asset decline by a factor of roughly three.
For trajectory, the fund reported NAV of $758.82 at December 31, 2024, $760.94 at June 30, 2025 and $767.97 at December 31, 2025, a full-year 2025 gain of 1.21%. The first half of 2026 is the first six-month period in that sequence to show a decline.
- —NAV per share $767.97 (2025-12-31) to $668.85 (2026-06-30), down $99.12 or 12.9%
- —Distributions paid $3,499,853, about $75.22 a share, which is 9.8 points of the 12.9%
- —Net decrease from operations $1,112,025, about $23.90 a share, including $2,387,865 of net unrealised depreciation
- —Net assets $35,732,226 to $31,120,348, a fall of $4,611,878, exactly the sum of the two components above
- —Reported total return for the six months: -3.16%, not annualised, against +1.21% for full-year 2025
- —Shares outstanding roughly 46,528 at both period ends
Background
CrowdStreet REIT I is a Delaware corporation registered under the Investment Company Act of 1940 as a non-diversified, closed-end management investment company and taxed as a REIT. It commenced operations on April 22, 2022. Its investment manager, CrowdStreet Advisors, LLC, is a wholly owned subsidiary of CrowdStreet, Inc., the Austin-based online real estate investing platform.
The sponsor's marketplace, a separate channel from this fund, has been the subject of SEC enforcement. On February 12, 2025 the Commission filed SEC v. Elchonon Schwartz and Nightingale Properties, LLC in the Northern District of Georgia (No. 1:25-cv-00716, litigation release LR-26254), charging the firm and its owner with using an internet funding platform to steal over $52 million from investors nationwide. Those transactions were individually syndicated deals listed on the CrowdStreet Marketplace. They are not identified in CrowdStreet REIT I's filings as part of this fund's portfolio, which its annual report describes as non-controlling equity interests in unaffiliated project entities.
Why it matters
For an evergreen fund that distributes cash, NAV per share and total return answer different questions, and this filing is a clean example of the gap between them. A shareholder who received the distributions experienced a 3.16% loss over the half. A screen that tracks only NAV per share records a 12.9% fall. Both numbers are correctly reported; only one describes what happened to an investor's money.
The component that does reflect portfolio performance is the $2,387,865 of net unrealised depreciation. On $35.7 million of opening net assets that is a markdown of about 6.7%, partly offset within operations by income and realized results. That is the figure to compare against property benchmarks, rather than the headline NAV change.
The filing does not state whether the distribution was funded from operating income, asset sale proceeds, or return of capital. For a fund distributing roughly 9.8% of opening NAV in six months while recording unrealised depreciation, that distinction determines whether the payout is sustainable from the portfolio or is drawing down the asset base.
See the opportunity. Understand the risk.
Get the latest on CrowdStreet
Follow the latest on CrowdStreet, discover new deals, and keep an eye on the risks. Get market news, platform updates, and independent research that helps you see beyond the pitch, delivered to your inbox.
Make your next move an informed one
Get the latest on CrowdStreet and the wider alternative markets. Join free.
Independent intelligence from AltStreet. No hype. No sponsor spin.
What the filings do not show
The report discloses aggregate figures and does not identify which underlying holdings were marked down or the amount attributable to each. Whether the $2,387,865 of unrealised depreciation is broad or concentrated in a small number of assets is not established.
The filing states no cause for the markdown. Nothing here characterises it as market-driven, asset-specific or distress, because no filing or named source does. The source of the distribution is likewise not disclosed in the figures reviewed, so the sustainability question raised above is posed, not answered.
The SEC action against Elchonon Schwartz and Nightingale Properties concerns deals syndicated through the CrowdStreet Marketplace and is included as sponsor background. Nothing in the record reviewed connects it to CrowdStreet REIT I's holdings or to this NAV movement. The status and outcome of that litigation after the February 2025 filing date were not verified for this article, and criminal proceedings reported elsewhere are omitted here for want of a citable primary source.
Sources
- Form N-CSRS, CrowdStreet REIT I, Inc., accession 0001999371-26-019951 (2026-09-04) — U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
- Form N-CSR (FY2025), CrowdStreet REIT I, Inc., accession 0001999371-26-005240 — U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
- Form N-CSRS (period ended 2025-06-30), CrowdStreet REIT I, Inc., accession 0001999371-25-012613 — U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
- Form N-2 registration statement, CrowdStreet Private Equity REIT I, Inc. — U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
- Litigation Release LR-26254, SEC v. Elchonon Schwartz and Nightingale Properties, LLC (2025-02-21) — U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
