How to Buy Neuralink Stock Pre-IPO
Two SEC-registered funds that actually own Neuralink carry it at $50.50 and $69.49 a share. The platforms selling you access quote $156 to $295. Neither set of numbers is a trade price, and the distance between them is the entire investment question.
Guide Thesis
The people who own Neuralink and the people selling it disagree about its value by a factor of four.
Both sets of marks are public. Reconciling them is the first job of any buyer, and almost nobody does it.

Executive Insight
The owners and the sellers disagree, in public.
A search of registered-fund portfolio filings turns up just two holders of Neuralink. Both bought the Series E at $50.50 a share. Baron Focused Growth has not moved that mark in four consecutive quarters. ARK Venture Fund has raised its mark four times in a year, to $69.49. Secondary platforms quote $156 to $295. The funds are not disinterested, because they own the asset, but their marks go through a registered fund's fair-value process and are filed with the SEC. The platform figures are indications rather than reported executions, published by the venues taking a fee to sell you the shares.
The Valuation Gap
$50.50 vs $295
Two SEC-registered funds that actually own Neuralink carry it at $50.50 and $69.49 a share. Platforms selling access quote $156 to $295. Nobody is reporting a trade price, because there is no tape.
IPO Signal
No statement exists
No Musk or company statement about a Neuralink listing, in either direction. He took SpaceX public in June 2026 and said nothing about Neuralink.
What You Can Verify
Six Form D filings
That is the complete public financial record. No audited statements, no revenue disclosure, and one director ever named across nine years of filings.
Bottom Line Up Front
Neuralink has filed six documents with the SEC in nine years, all of them Form D notices or amendments to one. They represent five distinct offerings and report $1,244,412,251 sold in total, counting the amended Series D once rather than twice. The last of them, filed June 12, 2025, reports $649,000,093 sold to 49 investors with a first sale on May 30, 2025. Two registered funds that bought into that round, ARK Venture Fund and Baron Focused Growth, both disclose a cost basis of exactly $50.50 a share, consistent with the reported Series E valuation of roughly $9 billion pre-money and $9.65 billion post-money. Baron still carries it there. ARK has marked it up to $69.49. Secondary platforms quote $156 to $295. The company values those higher marks imply, roughly $13 billion at ARK and $30 billion to $56 billion at the platforms, are AltStreet estimates that apply a derived share count, not disclosed figures.
There is no Neuralink IPO statement from Musk, the company, or any officer, in either direction. Every implant to date has been placed under an Investigational Device Exemption, no implanted brain-computer interface has any FDA marketing authorization, and no company in the field has started a pivotal trial. What you are buying, if you buy, is an unpriced position in a pre-commercial medical device company with no approved product and no disclosed revenue, whose entire public record is six capital-raising notices and whose progress reports come exclusively from the company itself.
What you buy
Never Neuralink's own offering. Either a secondary block subject to company consent, or an interest in one of twelve vehicles on EDGAR that hold shares.
What is unusual
A four-fold disagreement about value between parties who all have public marks, and no company statement about a listing at all.
What most miss
The regulatory clock. An unapproved Class III implant with no pivotal trial underway is not a company with a near-term liquidity path.
Price the gap before you price the company. Two registered funds with board-supervised valuation processes carry Neuralink at $50.50 and $69.49. The platforms quoting $156 to $295 are the ones selling you the shares. Ask any seller to reconcile their mark against ARK's and Baron's, both of which are public.
Rule 506(b) prohibits general solicitation, so a public advertisement to buy Neuralink pre-IPO is never Neuralink's offering. You are buying either a secondary block subject to company consent or an interest in a vehicle. Establish which before anything else, then read that vehicle's fee disclosure.
Underwrite the regulatory clock, not the narrative. No implanted brain-computer interface has any FDA marketing authorization, and no pivotal trial has begun anywhere. On the closest precedents, a pivotal starting today implies an approval decision in the 2030s.
New to private secondary markets? Start with the secondary pre-IPO markets hub and the EquityZen vs Forge vs Hiive guide. For the mechanism behind Neuralink's employee liquidity, use the tender offer mechanics reference, and for the filings themselves the Form D notice reference.
Investor Path
Choose the Neuralink access route that matches your constraints
| Investor Type | Realistic Path | Best Fit |
|---|---|---|
| Accredited, large check | Secondary block, likely subject to company consent | Forge / Hiive / Nasdaq Private Market |
| Accredited, smaller check | SPV interest, with a fee stack to read first | EquityZen funds or a named vehicle on EDGAR |
| Non-accredited | One verified route: a registered interval fund | ARK Venture Fund, Neuralink at 1.91% of net assets |
| Research-only | Track the two fund marks quarterly, free | ARK and Baron portfolio filings on EDGAR |
The fourth row is the cheapest useful idea in this guide. Both funds that own Neuralink must file their portfolio holdings with the SEC every quarter, so anyone can watch the only two fair-value marks on the asset that are filed with a regulator move, at no cost and with no accreditation.
Quick Answers
The explicit answers most investors actually need
The four that decide whether to go further. Risk and eligibility are covered in full further down and in the FAQ.
Can you buy Neuralink stock pre-IPO?
Only secondhand. Neuralink's own offerings are Rule 506(b), which bars public advertising. What is available is a secondary block subject to company consent, or an interest in one of the twelve vehicles on EDGAR that hold Neuralink shares.
What is the Neuralink share price?
The last documented primary price is $50.50, disclosed identically by two funds that bought the Series E. Current marks range from $50.50 at Baron to $69.49 at ARK to $156 and above on platforms. None of these is a trade print.
When is the Neuralink IPO?
Unknown, and unlike every other name in this series there is no company statement at all. No S-1, no ticker, no underwriters, no stated intention. Musk listed SpaceX in June 2026 without mentioning Neuralink.
Does Neuralink have revenue?
Undisclosed. It has no approved product to sell, and on all six Form D filings it selected "Decline to Disclose" rather than the available "No Revenues" option.
What Actually Matters
If you ignore these four things, the rest is noise
The gap between owners and sellers
ARK and Baron own Neuralink and publish their marks under a board-supervised process. Secondary platforms sell access to it and publish marks two to four times higher. When the people holding the asset and the people selling it disagree by that much, the disagreement is the investment question, not a detail.
A regulatory clock measured in decades
No implanted brain-computer interface has any FDA marketing authorization, and the FDA's device classification system does not yet contain a product code for one. On the nearest precedents, NeuroPace took 9.8 years from first implant to approval and Medtronic's epilepsy indication took 14.4 years. Neuralink has not begun a pivotal trial.
Disclosure the company fully controls
Six Form D filings are the entire financial record. Six registered trials exist and none has posted results. The public adverse-event database is empty by design, because investigational-device reports are not published. Every performance figure you have read was chosen and published by the sponsor.
Governance built for the operator
Across nine years and six filings, one person has ever been named a director: Jared Birchall, who runs Musk's family office. Musk is listed as an executive officer and never as a director. Neuralink reincorporated from Delaware to Nevada in February 2024, nine days after the Delaware Chancery voided Musk's Tesla pay package.
What do Neuralink's SEC filings actually show?
Short answer
Five distinct offerings between 2017 and 2025, represented by six Form D filings and amendments, reporting $1,244,412,251 sold in total. That is the complete public financial record. Neuralink is not an SEC reporting company, so there are no audited financial statements, no annual report, and no revenue disclosure.
Neuralink Corp. has a CIK of 0001708503 and exactly six filings on EDGAR, every one of them a Form D or an amendment to one. There is no S-1, no 10-K, no 10-Q and no 8-K, because a company raising privately has no obligation to file them. Every filing claims the same exemption, Rule 506(b), and every filing reports zero sales commissions and zero finders' fees.
| Round | Filed | Amount sold | Investors | Minimum | What the filing shows |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seed and early | August 25, 2017 | $26,958,000 | 12 | $10,000 | Offered $100,155,000 and sold 27% of it. Jared Birchall is the only person named on the filing. |
| Series B | May 10, 2019 | $39,312,497 | 7 | $150,000 | Max Hodak appears as an executive officer. He is the only co-founder besides Musk ever named, and he is gone by the next filing. |
| Series C | August 4, 2021 | $205,899,985 | 32 | $50,000 | Fully subscribed. Elon Musk appears for the first time, as an executive officer. |
| Series D | August 8, 2023 | $280,274,981 | 24 | $14,995 | Fully subscribed. Reuters reported a valuation near $5 billion in June 2023 on a secondary-implied basis. |
| Series D, amended | November 22, 2023 | $323,241,676 | 32 | $14,995 | This is an amendment, not a new round. The offering grew by $42,966,695 and eight investors, with the date of first sale unchanged. Widely misreported as a separate raise. |
| Series E | June 12, 2025 | $649,000,093 | 49 | $12,019 | Fully subscribed, first sale May 30, 2025, at $50.50 a share. The most recent filing of any kind. There is no 2026 Form D. |
Correction worth making
The November 2023 event reported everywhere as a separate $43 million round is an amendment to the August 2023 offering. Same offering, same first-sale date, $42,966,695 more raised. There were five rounds, not six.
There is no 2026 round
EDGAR shows no Neuralink filing after June 12, 2025. Claims of a $650 million round in April 2026 are a garbled restatement of the June 2025 Series E. Do not price off them.
The revenue box
On all six filings Neuralink selected "Decline to Disclose" for revenue range. The form offers a "No Revenues" option. It has never been checked.
The governance disclosure almost nobody reads
A Form D names the issuer's executive officers, directors and promoters. Across all six Neuralink filings, spanning 2017 to 2025, exactly one person has ever been identified as a director: Jared Birchall, who is also listed as an executive officer and who runs Musk's family office. Elon Musk first appears in 2021 and is listed as an executive officer every time, never as a director. Max Hodak, the co-founder, appears once, in 2019, and is absent thereafter. No independent director has ever been disclosed on any Neuralink filing. For a minority holder, that is the governance picture in full.
One related fact belongs beside it. Neuralink was a Delaware corporation through the November 2023 amendment and is a Nevada corporation by the June 2025 filing, a change reported as taking effect on February 8, 2024, nine days after the Delaware Court of Chancery voided Musk's Tesla pay package. Nevada law affords directors and officers materially stronger liability protection than Delaware, with a much thinner body of case law behind it, so the tools available to a minority holder are weaker.
What is Neuralink's valuation, and who says so?
Short answer
The last documented primary price is $50.50 a share, disclosed identically by the two SEC-registered funds that bought the Series E, consistent with a reported Series E valuation of roughly $9 billion pre-money and $9.65 billion post-money. Current marks run from $50.50 at Baron to $69.49 at ARK to $156 and above on secondary platforms. Company values implied by those higher marks are AltStreet estimates using a derived share count. None of these figures is a reported transaction price.
Private companies have no closing price, so every valuation is somebody's estimate and the useful question is always whose. For Neuralink, two registered funds hold the asset and are obliged to publish a valuation for it. They are not disinterested, because they own it, but their marks are produced inside a registered fund's fair-value process and filed with the SEC quarterly. A search of registered-fund portfolio filings returned only ARK Venture Fund and Baron Focused Growth.
They both bought the same Series E at the same price. ARK holds 237,624 shares at a cost of $12,000,012 and Baron holds 99,010 shares at a cost of $5,000,005. Both divide to $50.50 a share, and both record an acquisition date of May 30, 2025, matching the first sale date on the Form D exactly. That arithmetic also reconciles the round: a $9 billion pre-money valuation plus $649,000,093 raised gives $9.649 billion post-money, which at $50.50 a share implies about 191.1 million shares outstanding. Every implied company value in the table below is an AltStreet estimate applying that derived share count to a per-share mark. Neuralink has never disclosed its shares outstanding, so those figures carry the uncertainty of the derivation as well as the uncertainty of the mark.
| Who is marking it | As of | Per share | Implied value | Basis and why it differs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baron Focused Growth Fund | June 30, 2026 | $50.50 | ~$9.6B | SEC-registered mutual fund, Level 3, board-supervised process. 99,010 shares at $5,000,005, unchanged across four consecutive quarters. Held at cost. The same fund marks its other Musk-company positions far above cost, so this is not a reflexive markdown. |
| ARK Venture Fund | April 30, 2026 | $69.49 | ~$13.3B | SEC-registered interval fund, Level 3, adviser-valued. 237,624 shares, revalued upward four times in a year from $50.50 to $58.16 to $62.65 to $69.49. Neuralink is 1.91% of the fund's net assets. |
| Platform composite quotes | August and September 2026 | $156 to $295 | ~$30B to $56B | Secondary platform indications, methodologies not published. Two to four times what the two registered funds that own the asset carry it at. These are the venues selling access, and none of the figures is a reported transaction price. |
How to use the disagreement
Two funds looking at the same asset, under the same accounting standard, with the same auditor scrutiny, have arrived at marks 38% apart. That is not a scandal. Level 3 assets are genuinely hard to value and reasonable processes differ. But it establishes the range within which informed, supervised parties are willing to sit, and that range tops out at $69.49.
Baron's mark deserves particular attention because it is the one most easily dismissed as stale. It is not obviously stale. The same fund family carries other Musk-company positions at large multiples of cost, so holding Neuralink at exactly 1.00 times cost for four straight quarters is a choice its valuation committee keeps making, not an oversight.
Against that, a platform quoting $295 is asserting a value more than four times what a supervised fund holding the asset will carry it at. Any seller quoting a number in that range should be asked to explain what they know that ARK and Baron do not. The answer may be legitimate, since bid levels in a genuine secondary market do carry information. But it is a question worth making them answer in writing before you wire money.
When is the Neuralink IPO?
Short answer
There is no Neuralink IPO date and, unusually, no company statement about one in either direction. Musk took SpaceX public on Nasdaq in June 2026 and said nothing about Neuralink. A pre-approval device company can list, and many have, so the FDA timeline is not a gate on an IPO. It is the largest fundamental variable behind what an IPO could be priced at.
Most pre-IPO guides in this series can point to something: an S-1, a banker mandate, a founder quote, a stated preference to stay private. For Neuralink there is nothing. No registration statement, no ticker, no underwriters, no reported preparation, and no statement of intention or refusal from Musk or the company. The absence is worth stating plainly because the volume of Neuralink IPO content online implies a signal that does not exist.
The one genuinely informative data point is what Musk did with a different company. SpaceX completed its IPO in June 2026, listing on Nasdaq at $135.00 a share, with Musk retaining roughly 82% of voting power through a dual-class structure. So the demonstrated pattern is not that Musk companies never list. It is that this one has attracted no listing signal at all while its larger sibling went public.
The regulatory clock does not gate the listing, it prices it
It is worth being precise here, because a lot of writing on this subject is not. FDA authorization is not a prerequisite for going public. Device and biotech companies list while pre-revenue, pre-approval and sometimes before a pivotal trial has read out, and Neuralink could do the same. What the regulatory position governs is not whether a listing is possible but what a listing would plausibly be worth, how much capital the company still has to raise before it sells anything, and how long investors would hold before commercial revenue appears. On that, the record is unambiguous: no implanted brain-computer interface has any FDA marketing authorization for chronic use, from any company, anywhere. The FDA's device classification system does not contain a product code for one. And no company in the field, Neuralink included, has begun a pivotal trial.
Precedent: NeuroPace
9.8 years from first human implant to FDA approval of its responsive neurostimulation system.
Precedent: Medtronic
14.4 years for its deep brain stimulation epilepsy indication, including 8.1 years after a positive advisory panel. A favorable panel is not a date.
Breakthrough status
Neuralink holds two Breakthrough Device Designations. In the FDA's own words the designation does not change the standard for marketing authorization.
Those precedents say nothing about when Neuralink might list. They say a great deal about when it might sell anything. If a pivotal trial for an implanted brain-computer interface began today, the NeuroPace precedent would put an approval decision near 2034 and the Medtronic precedent later still. An investor buying today should price a long stretch with no product revenue, whether or not a listing happens sooner.
How do you actually buy Neuralink shares?
Short answer
Never from Neuralink. All six of its offerings claim Rule 506(b), which prohibits general solicitation, so public advertising of Neuralink pre-IPO shares is by definition not the company's offering. The real routes are a secondary block subject to company consent, or an interest in one of the twelve vehicles visible on EDGAR.
Platform access to Neuralink (September 2026)
Neuralink secondary access is thinner and less transparent than for the other names in this series. Most platforms keep price behind an accreditation wall, EquityZen's access is explicitly through funds rather than direct shares, and the quotes that are visible sit far above the marks published by the funds that own the asset. For a full platform comparison see the EquityZen vs Forge vs Hiive guide and the pre-IPO platform comparison tool.
| Platform | Visible state | Structure | AltStreet take |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nasdaq Private Market | Quotes around $234 to $240.51 in late August 2026 | Direct shares, accredited and institutional | The most specific public number, and roughly 3.5x Baron's mark. Its own materials note that employees may sell with company approval, which is the constraint that matters. |
| Forge Global | Could not be accessed; page blocked automated retrieval | Brokered direct shares and funds | We could not open Forge's Neuralink page to confirm whether it shows a secondary mark or simply restates the last round, so we are not quoting a figure for it. Verify directly before relying on any number it shows. See the Forge review. |
| Hiive | Gated, no public Neuralink order book | Live marketplace, self-directed | Hiive publishes live books for many names but not this one, which is itself a signal about supply. See the Hiive review. |
| EquityZen | Gated, price disclosed at deal stage | Fund and SPV interests, stated explicitly | Lower minimums, but you own a vehicle interest and not shares. K-1 treatment and distribution delay apply. See the EquityZen review. |
| Linqto | Chapter 11, transactions paused | Series-LLC units | Filed for bankruptcy protection in July 2025 with a plan confirmed in February 2026, amid regulatory scrutiny of sales to non-accredited investors and undisclosed markups. A live cautionary case for this whole category. |
Platform states observed September 2026. Quoted figures are platform indications using undisclosed methodologies, not executed transaction prices.
The SPV route, as the filings show it
Special purpose vehicles that buy Neuralink shares must file their own Form D, which makes this route unusually visible. Searching EDGAR returns twelve vehicles dedicated to Neuralink. Together they raised $14,525,472 from 317 investors, which is about 1.2% of the $1.24 billion Neuralink itself has raised. The largest single vehicle raised $3,466,740 from 21 investors; several raised under $1 million; two have raised nothing at all so far.
Read the minimum correctly
Several of these vehicles report a minimum investment of $0. On a Form D that means there is no minimum, not that participation is free. One reports a $1,000 minimum and took 107 investors.
The fees are real and thin on detail
Disclosures in this set include a non-accountable organization and offering fee payable to manager affiliates, carried interest and management fees, and organizational expenses in the $12,500 to $15,000 range. Ask for the full stack in writing.
Confirm the shares exist
FINRA's 2026 oversight report describes firms failing to confirm that a pre-IPO fund actually had possession of or access to the shares it purported to hold. Ask that question directly.
Why Rule 506(b) matters more here than anywhere else in this series
Every Neuralink offering claims Rule 506(b), which permits an issuer to raise unlimited capital from accredited investors but prohibits general solicitation. The company cannot advertise the offering and cannot sell to someone with whom it has no pre-existing relationship. So when a website advertises Neuralink pre-IPO shares to the public, that advertisement is definitionally not for Neuralink's offering.
What is being sold instead is either a secondary block from an existing holder, whose transfer the company may need to approve, or an interest in a vehicle. Both can be entirely legitimate. But the SEC has an investor alert specifically on pre-IPO investment scams noting that many pre-IPO offerings targeted at the general public may be illegal, and in August 2026 it charged a group that raised $74 million from more than 800 mostly retail investors across eleven pre-IPO funds, passing marked-up principal transactions along as hidden fees. Establish which instrument you are buying before anything else.
Can non-accredited investors get Neuralink exposure?
Short answer
One route we could verify requires no accreditation: ARK Venture Fund, a registered closed-end interval fund that holds Neuralink shares directly at 1.91% of net assets. The costs are a 2.90% expense cap, liquidity limited to periodic repurchase offers of roughly 5% of net assets, and the fact that you are buying an entire portfolio to reach one small position.
This is the part of the Neuralink access question that almost no guide covers, and it is the best answer we found for anyone who is not accredited. ARK Venture Fund, which trades under ARKVX, is a registered closed-end fund that operates as an interval fund, offering its shares continuously to the public rather than to accredited investors only. It holds 237,624 Neuralink shares directly, not through a vehicle, and Neuralink was 1.91% of its net assets at April 30, 2026.
What it gets you
- Direct Neuralink share ownership inside a fund, with no accreditation test
- A mark published quarterly with the SEC under a board-supervised process
- An audited, regulated wrapper with a named adviser, in place of an SPV whose fee stack you have to extract by asking
What it costs you
- An expense cap of 2.90% of average daily net assets, high against conventional funds
- Liquidity only through periodic repurchase offers of roughly 5% of net assets, which can be pro-rated if oversubscribed
- You buy the whole portfolio. Neuralink is under 2% of it, so this is not concentrated exposure
Baron Focused Growth also holds Neuralink and is available to ordinary investors, but at 0.09% of net assets a $1,000 investment buys about 90 cents of Neuralink. It is a fine fund and a meaningless Neuralink vehicle. If concentrated Neuralink exposure is the goal, neither fund provides it, and that is worth sitting with: the only regulated, accreditation-free routes to this asset deliver a sliver of it.
What transfer restrictions apply to Neuralink shares?
Short answer
Neuralink's own transfer terms are not public. What is documented is that Reuters reported in July 2024 that the company asks employees not to trade on the secondary market and prefers to run its own tender offers, and that Nasdaq Private Market states employee sales require company approval. Treat the exact restrictions as unknown, and treat company consent as a live execution risk.
We could not locate a public copy of Neuralink's bylaws, charter or stockholders' agreement, and we found no reporting of any named Neuralink secondary transfer being blocked or approved. Anyone telling you precisely how Neuralink's right of first refusal works is telling you something they cannot source. What can be sourced is the company's posture.
Reuters reported in July 2024 that Neuralink asks employees not to trade their shares on the secondary market, preferring company-run tender offers. The same reporting described a tender priced near $19 a share in late 2023 while secondary shares were changing hands nearer $35, with buyers later offering as much as $50. Two things follow. Sellers on the secondary market may be acting against the company's stated preference, which raises consent risk. And the issuer itself, when it set a price for its own employees, set one far below the secondary market.
The best available proxy is now a public filing
SpaceX listing publicly had a side effect useful to Neuralink investors: it put a Musk-company equity plan on the SEC's website. Its equity incentive plan defines a transfer expansively, covering any sale, assignment, pledge or gift, voluntary or by operation of law, directly or indirectly, and provides that an attempted transfer in violation is void and may result in forfeiture of the shares. The share legend states that any transfer is void without the company's prior express written consent.
That is not Neuralink's document and it must not be described as one. But it is the most concrete evidence available of how a Musk-controlled private company drafted its restrictions, the language reaches indirect structures such as SPVs and forwards, and it is consistent in spirit with Neuralink asking employees not to trade. Read it as an indication of posture, not as a binding term.
For scale of what an issuer can do, Anthropic is the sharpest comparator in this series. Its own published policy states that any sale or transfer of its stock, or any interest in its stock, that has not been approved by its board is void, extends the restriction to special purpose vehicles, and warns about funds relying on mechanisms that attempt to circumvent those restrictions. There is no evidence Neuralink has taken a comparable position. The point is that issuers in this market can and do, sometimes with little warning, and the buyer carries that risk. See the Anthropic guide for how that plays out in practice.
What does Neuralink actually have, as of today?
Short answer
An implanted brain-computer interface in early feasibility trials. Reuters reported 21 participants enrolled worldwide as of January 2026. Six registered studies exist, all feasibility, none has posted results, and the company has no FDA marketing authorization of any kind. Every implant to date has been placed under an Investigational Device Exemption.
The first Neuralink implant was placed in January 2024. Reuters reported in January 2026 that 21 participants had been enrolled worldwide, and that Neuralink reported no serious device-related adverse events. Neuralink does not publish a running total, so that figure is Reuters reporting the company rather than a disclosure you can independently check. Higher numbers circulating online do not trace to any credible source.
| Study | Status | Started | Target enrollment | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PRIME | Recruiting | January 2024 | 15 | Barrow Neurological Institute; University of Miami |
| CONVOY | Enrolling by invitation | November 2024 | 3 | Barrow Neurological Institute |
| CAN-PRIME | Recruiting | November 2024 | 6 | University Health Network, Toronto |
| UAE-PRIME | Recruiting | May 2025 | 10 | Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi |
| GB-PRIME | Recruiting | July 2025 | 7 | UCLH; Newcastle |
| VOICE | Recruiting | October 2025 | 6 | UT Southwestern |
Total registered capacity across all six is 47 participants. Every study is a feasibility study whose primary endpoints are adverse-event rates, meaning they are designed to test safety rather than to prove benefit. None has posted results. No pivotal trial has been registered. Set that against the public statement that Neuralink would reach high-volume production in 2026, with more than 1,000 implants achievable, and there is no disclosed regulatory pathway under which that is possible.
Where Neuralink sits among its competitors
Patient counts across this sector are routinely compared without noting that they measure different things. A chronic implant left in place for years and an acute placement removed after twenty minutes in the operating room are not the same event. Blackrock Neurotech has the longest chronic record, reported by Reuters in April 2024 as more than 40 individuals, some for over eight years. Synchron has ten chronic implants and peer-reviewed results. Precision Neuroscience cites 95 or more patients, but those are overwhelmingly acute intraoperative recordings, and its 2025 FDA clearance is a Class II clearance for temporary recording of under 30 days, not a brain-computer interface approval.
One competitor is worth noting for a different reason. Science Corporation, founded by Max Hodak, the Neuralink co-founder who appears on the 2019 Form D and no later filing, published results in a major journal in October 2025 covering 38 patients of its subretinal implant, with most showing clinically meaningful improvement, and began a commercial launch in Europe in July 2026. A company founded by a departed Neuralink co-founder reached market in a neighboring field first.
What are the biggest risks of buying Neuralink pre-IPO?
Short answer
The defining risk is that you cannot audit what you are buying. No audited financials, no revenue disclosure, no independent directors disclosed, no published trial results, and a public adverse-event database that is empty for structural reasons rather than reassuring ones. Every performance figure in circulation was selected and published by the company.
You cannot audit the safety record
The FDA's public adverse-event database contains no genuine Neuralink reports. That is not a clean bill of health. Those reports cover marketed devices; Neuralink's implant is in use under an Investigational Device Exemption, and adverse events there route into a non-public file. The database is empty by design. Everything the public knows about implant performance comes from the company's own posts, unaudited and self-selected.
A valuation nobody can reconcile
Two supervised funds that own the asset carry it at $50.50 and $69.49. Platforms selling access quote $156 to $295. If you buy near the upper end, the entire gap is your downside before the business does anything at all, and the only independent marks you can point to sit far below your entry.
Disclosure has been reactive
The most instructive episode is the first patient's thread retraction. Neuralink disclosed it the same day a major newspaper began asking questions, and a progress update published weeks earlier had not mentioned it. The company did publish specific performance figures, showing a decline and a software-only recovery, which is more than many sponsors offer. But the pattern is that the sponsor controls both the timing and the content of every disclosure, and no independent party audits it.
Two open matters with no resolution on record
A USDA Inspector General inquiry has never been publicly reported as concluded, and its status is unknown. An SEC investigation has been referenced in correspondence but has produced no enforcement action against Neuralink, ever. Both should be treated as open and unresolved rather than as findings. Separately, a 2023 FDA inspection of the California facility produced documentation observations that were resolved by voluntary remediation, and the FDA told Congress they did not undermine the device's safety.
Governance designed around one operator
One director has ever been disclosed across six filings, and he runs the founder's family office. No independent director appears anywhere in the public record. The move to Nevada nine days after a Delaware court voided Musk's Tesla pay package shifts the company into a regime with materially stronger protection for directors and officers and thinner case law for minority holders.
Indefinite duration with no listing signal
There is no IPO statement and no S-1. A company can list before approval, so this is not a regulatory bar, it is an absence of any signal at all. If your thesis requires a liquidity event inside a defined window, nothing in the public record supports one. Separately, the nearest regulatory precedents put commercial revenue in the 2030s, so even a listing would not end the wait for a working business.
Pre-IPO Series Comparison
How Neuralink compares with the other private-market names
Neuralink is the outlier in this series on almost every axis that matters. It is the only name with no revenue disclosure, no approved product, no IPO statement of any kind, and a valuation range on which informed parties differ by a factor of four.
| Company | Last institutional mark | IPO signal | Access structure | Primary risk |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neuralink | $9.65B (May 2025 Series E, $50.50/share) | None. No statement in either direction | Thin secondary, twelve small SPVs, company consent unknown | Unauditable business and a four-fold valuation disagreement |
| Stripe | $159B (Feb 2026 tender) | Low. Profitable and explicitly private-first | Conventional ROFR, direct and SPV routes | Private-market duration risk |
| Databricks | $134B (Feb 2026 financing) | Higher. Bankers engaged, S-1 expected | No-direct-transfer policy, SPVs and forwards dominate | Transfer structure complexity |
| OpenAI | $380B (Feb 2026 Series G) | Higher. Cash burn pressures a liquidity event | SPV-heavy with board approval risk | Governance and capital structure |
| Anthropic | $380B (Feb 2026 Series G) | Low to medium. Heavy capital needs, strategic backers | Void-transfer policy, SPVs expressly void | Void-transfer risk |
| Anduril | $61B (May 2026 Series H) | Low. Profitability-before-IPO stated | Thin supply, defense transfer scrutiny on top of ROFR | Contract concentration, approval uncertainty |
The comparison that clarifies Neuralink most is Stripe. Both have an uncertain listing timeline, but for opposite reasons. Stripe is profitable and has chosen to stay private, so its investors are underwriting a decision. Neuralink has no approved product, so its investors are underwriting a regulatory outcome that no company in its field has ever achieved. Those are not the same kind of uncertainty, and they should not command the same risk premium.
SpaceX, whose archived guide covers the period before it listed, is the useful precedent rather than a current comparison. It shows how a Musk-controlled company handled secondary access right up to a liquidity event, and its public filings are now the best available evidence of how such a company drafts its transfer restrictions.
What are the accreditation requirements?
Short answer
Accredited investor status is required for every secondary and SPV route to Neuralink, under the standard Regulation D thresholds. The Neuralink-specific wrinkle is not the accreditation test but what sits behind it: confirming the instrument, the fee stack, and whether the seller can actually deliver the shares.
The investor suitability and accreditation reference covers the income, net worth and professional-credential thresholds in full. For Neuralink specifically, the diligence that matters starts after you clear that test.
Five questions to put in writing before wiring anything
- Am I buying shares or an interest in a vehicle, and if a vehicle, what are its total fees including any non-accountable organization and offering fee?
- Does the seller currently hold the shares, or is this contingent on sourcing them? FINRA has flagged firms that failed to confirm this.
- What is your price per share, and how do you reconcile it against the $50.50 and $69.49 marks that ARK and Baron publish with the SEC?
- Does this transaction require Neuralink's consent, and what happens to my capital and to your fees if consent is withheld?
- What is the expected holding period given that there is no IPO statement and no approved product, and what happens if there is never a liquidity event?
Methodology
How this guide is built
Every Neuralink financial figure here was pulled from SEC EDGAR directly and re-verified for this guide: all six Form D filings, the fund holdings that disclose the Series E price, and the twelve third-party vehicles. Trial data comes from ClinicalTrials.gov and device status from the FDA's own databases. Press reporting is named and dated wherever it carries a fact we could not obtain from a filing.
What changes fastest
Platform quotes and fund marks move every quarter. ARK has revalued Neuralink upward four times in a year while Baron has not moved at all. The durable parts are structural: the absence of a listing statement, the Rule 506(b) posture, the regulatory pathway, and the fact that the company controls every channel through which its progress is disclosed.
Why this matters
Neuralink is the only company in this series with no revenue disclosure, no approved product, no IPO statement, and a valuation range where informed parties disagree by a factor of four. Standard pre-IPO framing, which assumes a known mark and a contested timeline, does not describe this situation at all.
Source confidence
Treated as primary and verified directly: all six Neuralink Form D filings, the ARK and Baron portfolio holdings that disclose the Series E price and every subsequent mark, the twelve third-party vehicles, the six registered trials, and Neuralink's FDA status. Treated as attributed reporting and labeled as such: the participant count, the 2023 tender price, and the company's stated preference that employees not trade. Platform quotes are indications using undisclosed methodologies, not transaction prices. The share count used for implied valuations is derived, not disclosed. Where a widely repeated figure could not be reconciled to a source, it was left out rather than hedged.
Get the Pre-IPO Watchlist
Track the two marks that actually matter.
ARK and Baron must file their Neuralink marks every quarter, which makes them the only fair-value marks on the asset that reach a regulator. Get an alert when either moves, when a new Form D appears, or when a new vehicle files. The same watchlist tracks OpenAI, Databricks, Anthropic, Stripe and Anduril.
Get the pre-IPO watchlist →What the analysis surfaces
- The spread between fund marks and platform quotes, tracked over time.
- Effective entry price after vehicle fees and consent risk.
- Every new Neuralink-dedicated vehicle as its Form D hits EDGAR.
Final View
Conclusion: what you are actually buying
Neuralink may become one of the most consequential medical device companies ever built. Nothing in this guide argues otherwise, and the early results the company has published are genuinely remarkable. But an investment decision is not a judgment about whether the technology is important. It is a judgment about whether the price you pay is defensible on the information you can verify.
On that test the picture is unusually clear. What you can verify is six capital-raising notices, one disclosed director, no revenue disclosure, no audited financials, six feasibility trials with no posted results, no FDA marketing authorization, no pivotal trial anywhere in the field, and no statement about an IPO. What you cannot verify is almost everything else, including the safety record, because the channel that would carry it is closed by design while the device remains investigational.
The two parties who own Neuralink and must publish a mark say $50.50 and $69.49. The parties who would like to sell it to you say $156 to $295. The fund marks are produced inside registered fund valuation processes and filed with the SEC. The platform numbers are indications, not reported executions. You do not need a view on brain-computer interfaces to notice which of those two things you can check.
AltStreet verdict
A genuinely important company, an unauditable investment, and a price nobody can reconcile. All three are true at once.
If you want exposure anyway, the regulated interval fund at 1.91% of net assets is the only route that comes with an audit, a published mark and no accreditation test. It is also the smallest position, which is probably the right size.
Related Resources
How to buy Stripe stock pre-IPO
The instructive contrast: a profitable company choosing to stay private, where the uncertainty is a decision rather than a regulatory outcome.
How to buy Anthropic stock pre-IPO
The clearest published example of an issuer declaring unapproved transfers and SPV interests void. Essential context for consent risk.
How to buy OpenAI stock pre-IPO
Board approval requirements and SPV-heavy access, with capital needs that create genuine pressure toward a liquidity event.
How to buy Databricks stock pre-IPO
The strongest confirmed listing timeline in the series, paired with the most restrictive direct-share policy.
How to buy Anduril stock pre-IPO
Thin secondary supply and sector-specific transfer scrutiny layered on top of a conventional right of first refusal.
How SpaceX pre-IPO access worked
Archived after the listing, and now the closest available precedent for how a Musk-controlled company handled secondary transfers.
EquityZen vs Forge vs Hiive
Head-to-head on fees, structure, pricing transparency and execution risk across the three platforms most likely to quote you Neuralink.
Form D notice reference
How to read the filings this guide is built on, including what the minimum investment field actually means when it reads zero.
Tender offer mechanics
How company-run liquidity events work, and why an issuer that prefers them may not welcome your secondary purchase.
Accreditation and suitability
The thresholds that gate every route in this guide except the registered interval fund.
Compare pre-IPO platforms
Score and compare access routes, fees, transparency and structure across the major private-market platforms.
Secondary pre-IPO markets hub
Tender offers, transfer mechanics and access models across the private-market ecosystem.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Can you buy Neuralink stock before the IPO?
Not from Neuralink. All six of its Form D filings claim Rule 506(b), which prohibits general solicitation, so any website advertising Neuralink pre-IPO shares to the public is not selling Neuralink's own offering. What is actually available is secondary: shares sold by existing holders, or interests in a special purpose vehicle that holds shares. EDGAR shows twelve third-party vehicles dedicated to Neuralink, which together raised $14,525,472 from 317 investors, about 1.2% of what Neuralink itself has raised. Accreditation is required for all of these. One exception exists for everyone else, covered below.
2. What is Neuralink actually worth?
Nobody can tell you, and the honest version of that answer is the most useful thing in this guide. The last priced round is documented: Neuralink sold $649,000,093 to 49 investors with a first sale on May 30, 2025, and two SEC-registered funds that bought into it both disclose a cost basis of exactly $50.50 per share. That price is consistent with the reported Series E valuation of roughly $9 billion pre-money and $9.65 billion post-money. As of their most recent filings, Baron Focused Growth still carries it at $50.50 and ARK Venture Fund marks it at $69.49, implying about $13.3 billion. Secondary platforms quote $156 to $295, implying $30 billion to $56 billion. All of these are estimates. None is a transaction tape.
3. When is the Neuralink IPO date?
There is no Neuralink IPO date, and there is no company statement about one. We could not find a single statement by Elon Musk, by Neuralink, or by any officer expressing an intention to take Neuralink public, or even denying it. That absence is more striking than it sounds, because Musk did take his largest private company public: SpaceX listed on Nasdaq in June 2026 at $135.00 a share. He said nothing about Neuralink. Essentially the entire body of Neuralink IPO content online has no primary source beneath it.
4. How much has Neuralink raised?
Six Form D filings representing five distinct offerings report $1,244,412,251 sold in total, counting the amended Series D once rather than twice. That is a floor rather than a complete picture, because not all capital must appear on a Form D, but it is the entire public financial record. Widely repeated figures of $1.85 billion do not reconcile to any filing. One specific correction matters: the November 2023 event reported as a separate $43 million round is not a round. It is an amendment to the August 2023 offering, raising the same offering from $280,274,981 to $323,241,676 and investors from 24 to 32, with the date of first sale unchanged.
5. Where does Neuralink stock trade on the secondary market?
Nasdaq Private Market, EquityZen, Hiive and Forge Global all reference Neuralink, though most hold price behind an accreditation wall and EquityZen's access is explicitly through funds rather than direct shares. The important context comes from Reuters, which reported in July 2024 that Neuralink runs its own tender offers and asks employees not to trade on the secondary market. In that account a company tender was priced near $19 a share while secondary shares changed hands near $35. An issuer that prefers to control liquidity is an issuer whose approval your transaction may depend on.
6. Can non-accredited investors get Neuralink exposure?
Yes. AltStreet found one such route, and almost nobody writes about it. ARK Venture Fund is a registered closed-end interval fund, so it is sold to investors without accreditation, and it holds Neuralink directly rather than through a vehicle. At April 30, 2026 Neuralink was 1.91% of its net assets. The tradeoffs are real: the fund's own expense cap is 2.90% of average daily net assets, liquidity comes only through periodic repurchase offers of roughly 5% of net assets that can be pro-rated if oversubscribed, and you are buying a whole portfolio to get a 1.91% sleeve. Baron Focused Growth also holds Neuralink, but at 0.09% of net assets it is not an exposure vehicle in any meaningful sense.
7. What is the biggest risk in buying Neuralink pre-IPO?
That you cannot audit what you are buying. Neuralink is not an SEC reporting company: there are no audited financials, no 10-K, and no revenue disclosure, because it selected "Decline to Disclose" on the revenue question in all six Form D filings rather than the available "No Revenues" box. Its safety record is similarly unauditable. The FDA's public adverse-event database contains no genuine Neuralink reports, and that is structural rather than reassuring: the device is in use under an Investigational Device Exemption, and those reports route into a non-public file. Everything the public knows about how the implants have performed comes from the company's own posts.
8. Does Neuralink have FDA approval?
No, and neither does any other implanted brain-computer interface. Neuralink holds Breakthrough Device Designations for Blindsight, granted September 17, 2024, and for speech restoration, granted May 1, 2025, but the FDA states plainly that the designation does not change the standard for marketing authorization. Every Neuralink implant to date has been placed under an Investigational Device Exemption. No implanted brain-computer interface anywhere has a marketing authorization for chronic use, and no company has started a pivotal trial. That is the single most important fact for anyone underwriting a commercialization timeline.
Important Disclosures
This page is educational and does not constitute investment, tax, or legal advice. Private-company investing involves illiquidity, limited disclosure, transfer restrictions, and the potential loss of all capital. Neuralink is a pre-commercial medical device company with no approved product and no disclosed revenue.
Neuralink financial figures are taken from the six Form D filings of Neuralink Corp. (CIK 0001708503) on SEC EDGAR, read directly and verified in September 2026. Per-share prices and valuation marks are from the SEC portfolio filings of ARK Venture Fund and Baron Select Funds; both are Level 3 estimates rather than transaction prices, and the two disagree. Implied company valuations use a share count derived from the reported round size and price per share, which is an estimate and not a disclosed figure. Third-party vehicle totals are aggregated by AltStreet from those vehicles' own Form D filings.
Participant counts, the 2023 tender price, and the company's stated preference that employees not trade are attributed to Reuters reporting on the dates given and are not independently verifiable from filings. Trial information is from ClinicalTrials.gov and device status from FDA databases, both retrieved September 2026. Platform quotes are indicative figures published by those platforms using undisclosed methodologies; they are not executed transaction prices and AltStreet could not verify them against any trade. Transfer-restriction language described as a proxy is from another company's public filing and is expressly not Neuralink's. Regulatory and investigatory matters described as open are open, with no findings against Neuralink Corp. on record.
AltStreet has no affiliate, sponsored, or paid relationship with Neuralink, ARK, Baron, or any platform referenced here, and holds no position in any security mentioned. Platform minimums and fees vary by deal and change; verify current terms directly. Investors should review current offering documents and work with qualified advisers before committing capital.
