Platform Comparison Guide · Updated September 2026

MicroVentures vs Wefunder 2026: Where the Offerings Are, and Where the Records Are

Both platforms built the same two-channel machine: a Regulation Crowdfunding book open to anyone, and a Regulation D side-car for accredited investors. They then ran it in inverted proportions, and their issuers documented the results in inverted proportions too. Compared on 4,790 Wefunder and 696 MicroVentures Form C family filings.

Guide Thesis

One platform has the offerings. The other has the paperwork.

Wefunder has filed 2,902 offerings and is still going. But 74% of MicroVentures offerings carry a filed closing amount, against 11% of Wefunder's.

Something to Buy

Wefunder

2,902 initial Form C offerings for 2,494 issuers and still filing at hundreds a year. MicroVentures filed 4 Reg CF offerings in 2025 and had none open on September 18, 2026.

Closing Amount Filed

MicroVentures, 74%

On offerings past their deadline and not withdrawn, 144 of 195 MicroVentures offerings carry a Form C-U stating an amount, against 293 of 2,730 on Wefunder, or 11%. It is the filing that states what an offering sold.

Investor Fee on Reg CF

Wefunder, 0%

Wefunder charges the issuer a $10,000 setup fee and the investor nothing on a direct offering. MicroVentures charged issuers 5%, plus a securities interest worth about 2% on 126 of 194 offerings, and publishes no investor-side fee.

Reg D Side-Car

Inverted

Wefunder's Wefunds LLC is 96 series and $60.1M beside a large retail book. MicroVentures' is 999 vehicles and $260.7M beside a retail book that has gone quiet.

MicroVentures vs Wefunder equity crowdfunding platform comparison 2026

The same two-channel machine, run in opposite proportions

Short answer

Both platforms arrived at the same two-channel design. A Regulation Crowdfunding book lets any investor buy into an early-stage company at low minimums, and a Regulation D side-car sells accredited investors interests in vehicles that hold the same kind of company. Wefunder runs the retail side through Wefunder Portal LLC and the side-car through Wefunds LLC, 96 series raising $60.1 million. MicroVentures runs both through its broker-dealer, with 999 single-purpose vehicles reporting $260,740,526 sold. The proportions are inverted: Wefunder's side-car is a small adjunct to a large retail book, and MicroVentures' vehicle series is roughly nine times the size of its entire crowdfunding history and is the part still filing. That inversion is the guide. It shows up in what you can buy, what it costs, and, most usefully, in whether anyone ever filed a document stating what an offering sold.

The two channels, side by side

DimensionMicroVenturesWefunder
Reg CF scale696 Form C family filings resolving to 194 initial Form C offerings, 195 offerings in total, 182 issuers. 38 offerings in 2020, 4 in 2025, none open on 2026-09-18.4,790 Form C family filings resolving to 2,902 initial Form C offerings, 2,908 offerings in total, 2,494 issuers, 2015 to 2026, still filing in the hundreds a year.
Reg D side-car999 single-purpose vehicles, $260,740,526 reported sold, 15,282 investor positions. Larger than the retail book by roughly nine times.Wefunds LLC, 96 series, $60.1M. Per-issuer vehicles 2014 to 2017, generic pools from 2022.
Issuer fee on Reg CF5% of the amount raised on 81 offerings since 2020 (7% on 50 offerings 2016 to 2018), plus securities equal to 2% of the securities sold on 126 of 194, which is compensation in securities rather than cash.A $10,000 per-offering setup fee. The side-car is priced separately at 5% management plus 10% carry; the base and period for that 5% are not stated.
Investor fee on Reg CFNone published. The Form C discloses the issuer-side compensation only.0% on a direct Regulation CF offering.
What you boughtMostly a Crowd Note: 131 of 194 initial offerings, plus 17 SAFEs, against 18 preferred and 4 common. About 68% a convertible; about 2% common stock.Mostly a SAFE: 1,569 of 2,902, plus 337 convertible notes, against 389 preferred, 163 common and 149 debt. About 66% a convertible; about 6% common stock.
Closing amount on file144 of 195 offerings past deadline and not withdrawn, 74%. Any C-U at all: 169 of 195, 87%.293 of 2,730 offerings on the same test, 11%. Any C-U at all: 296 of 2,730.
FINRA settlementAWC 2019-12-30, censure and a $40,000 fine, twenty unfiled private placement memoranda in 2017.AWC No. 2021071940801, May 2022, five categories of violations 2016 to 2021 including 39 offerings redirecting investors into Reg D to circumvent Reg CF maxima.

The filing that states what an offering sold, and who files it

Short answer

Regulation Crowdfunding requires an issuer to file a final Form C-U progress update within five business days of its offering deadline, stating how much it sold. It is the document that puts an offering's closing amount on the public record, and the filing rates on these two platforms are not close. AltStreet measured it on the only defensible basis: offerings whose deadline has passed and which were not withdrawn, so a report is genuinely due. On MicroVentures, 144 of 195 such offerings carry a C-U stating an amount, 74%, and 169 carry any C-U at all, 87%. On Wefunder, 293 of 2,730 carry one stating an amount, 11%. That difference decides what can be said about each platform's record. MicroVentures' $28,540,887 of realized crowdfunding capital is a filing-derived number covering three quarters of its offerings, which is why this guide can state it to the dollar. Wefunder's aggregate raise claims rest on a filed deal-level record that exists for about one offering in nine; AltStreet could parse final totals for 254 closed offerings, where the median raise was $283,000 and only about 21% reached $1 million. Two cautions. Neither platform is the filer, since the obligation sits with the issuer. And a C-U states what an offering sold, not whether the investment went on to succeed, which neither platform discloses at all.

Why the inversion is not as strange as it looks

A platform with 182 issuers can chase every one of them for a filing; a platform with 2,494 cannot do so as easily, and the cost of chasing is the same whether the issuer raised $30,000 or $3 million. That is an explanation, not an excuse, and it does not change the consequence for an investor. On Wefunder the amount a company actually raised is usually visible only on the platform's own page, which is not a filed document and is not preserved by anyone if the page changes. On MicroVentures it is usually on EDGAR, where it stays. If you hold a position on either platform, the Form C-U is the first thing to look for and the reason this guide can be precise about one book and only approximate about the other.

A flat fee against a percentage, and where they cross

Short answer

The two platforms charge in different shapes, and for the size of raise these venues actually do, the shape decides the answer. Wefunder takes a $10,000 per-offering setup fee from the issuer and nothing from the investor on a direct Regulation CF offering. MicroVentures took a percentage: 7% of the amount raised on 50 offerings from 2016 to 2018, 5% on 81 offerings from 2020 to 2025, plus securities equal to 2% of the securities sold on 126 of 194 offerings, which at the issue price is worth roughly a further 2% of offering value. On an offering carrying both the 5% cash commission and the 2% securities interest, and the securities interest appeared on 126 of 194 offerings rather than all of them, run those against MicroVentures' median offering of $123,698 and the load is about $8,659 against Wefunder's flat $10,000. The lines cross at roughly $142,857, and above that the flat fee is the cheaper of the two, increasingly so as the raise grows. Two caveats before anyone treats this as a price list. The 2% is compensation in securities and dilution to existing holders rather than a second cash charge. And this is a comparison of historical fee structures, not a live choice: MicroVentures had no Regulation CF offering open on September 18, 2026, so a founder today is not picking between these two schedules. For the investor the comparison is simpler, because Wefunder states 0% on a direct offering and MicroVentures publishes no investor-side fee at all, in either channel.

What happens when the accredited side-car meets the retail book

Short answer

Both platforms put a Regulation D side-car next to a Regulation CF book, and both ran into the question that structure raises: what stops the accredited vehicle from becoming a way around the retail rules. On Wefunder that question has a regulatory answer. FINRA's May 2022 settlement covered, among five categories of violations between 2016 and 2021, 39 offerings in which investors were redirected into Regulation D in a way that circumvented Regulation CF maxima, roughly $20 million in aggregate, alongside about $290,000 of dormant escrow not transmitted and supervisory failures. Wefunder filed a corrective action statement and no subsequent enforcement has followed in the four years since. At MicroVentures the two channels instead moved in opposite directions: Regulation D activity stayed substantial, at 80 to 180 Form D filings a year, while Regulation CF activity contracted to four offerings in 2025. AltStreet is describing a filing trend, not a mechanism, and nothing in the record establishes why the mix changed. What can be said is that on both platforms the accredited product came to dominate the retail one, and that only one of the two produced a FINRA action about it.

The nine companies that raised on both

Short answer

Nine companies raised on both platforms, and AltStreet could only identify them after repairing its own Wefunder census in September 2026, which until then stored a placeholder issuer identifier on every row. They are 20/20 GeneSystems, Zeehaus, ReGrained, Gleantap, Leaping Harts, Aladdin Scheme, SuperdopeTV, Jetoptera, and the issuer that raised on MicroVentures as Oracle Health and on Wefunder as Future Cardia. Nine out of 179 is a small overlap, and the useful thing about it is not its size but its structure: it holds the company constant and varies the venue. For anyone comparing these platforms on a specific deal, those nine are the only cases where the same business filed a Form C through both, so the terms, the instrument and the eventual filing record can be read against each other without the company itself being the variable.

AltStreet Terminal

The nine overlapping issuers existed all along. Nobody could see them.

AltStreet's Wefunder census stored a placeholder issuer identifier on 2,548 rows, so no issuer-level comparison was possible against it. Repairing that recovered 2,438 real issuer identities and made this comparison computable. The same data layer covers 100-plus platforms, and the repairs are part of the product.

Get early access

Who should choose which

Short answer

If you want to invest in a startup this month and you are not accredited, the comparison is over before it starts: Wefunder has offerings and MicroVentures has none. Read the Form C, price the valuation against the filed financials, note that a direct Wefunder offering is most often a SAFE, with no investor fee and no K-1, while the Wefunds side-car carries a 5% management fee, 10% carry and a K-1, and size every position for total loss. For a founder the arithmetic is historical rather than a live choice, because MicroVentures had no Regulation CF offering open in September 2026: below roughly $142,857 its percentage was cheaper than Wefunder's flat $10,000, above it the flat fee won, and on the 126 of 194 offerings that carried it the securities interest counted as part of the cost. For anyone holding an existing position on either platform, the task is the same and it is the reason this guide exists: find your issuer's Form C-U and Form C-AR history on EDGAR, because on one of these platforms that record usually exists and on the other it usually does not.

What this guide did not compare

  • Realized outcomes. Neither platform publishes deal-level returns, exits or write-offs, and no filing on either record discloses a distribution to crowdfunding investors. No performance comparison is possible in either direction.
  • Total capital raised. The progress-update rates are too different to put one aggregate against the other. MicroVentures' $28,540,887 covers 144 of its 195 offerings; Wefunder's filed record covers about one offering in nine, so its platform-wide total cannot be derived the same way. Nor does a filed closing amount say anything about whether the investment succeeded.
  • MicroVentures' Reg D vehicle terms. No operating agreement, management fee or carried interest is published for any of its 999 vehicles, so its side-car cannot be priced against Wefunds' disclosed 5% and 10%.
  • Issuer quality. Nothing here compares the companies themselves. The nine overlapping issuers are identified as a method note, not as a sample from which either platform's selection can be judged.
  • Litigation beyond the located record. AltStreet's scan covered web sources, BrokerCheck disclosure sections and EDGAR. PACER and state securities regulators were not searched for either platform.

Verdict

One platform has the offerings. The other has the paperwork.

Wefunder is the working venue. It has intermediated 2,902 Regulation CF offerings for 2,494 issuers, it is still filing, it charges the investor nothing on a direct offering, and if you want to back an early-stage company at $100 it is the one of the two that can sell you something. It also carries the larger regulatory record, a 2022 FINRA settlement covering five categories of violations including 39 offerings that redirected investors into Regulation D to get around Regulation CF limits, and its offerings carry a filed closing amount only about one time in nine. MicroVentures is the opposite on those points. Its retail channel has gone quiet, its fee was a percentage plus a securities interest, and 144 of its 195 offerings carry a filed closing amount, which is why its book can be stated to the dollar and Wefunder's cannot. What neither can tell you is how any of it turned out, since no realized return, exit or write-off is disclosed on either record. Choose Wefunder to invest, and MicroVentures' record to see what a documented Regulation CF book looks like.

Frequently asked questions

Is MicroVentures or Wefunder better for equity crowdfunding?

Wefunder, if you want something to buy. It has intermediated 2,902 initial Form C offerings for 2,494 issuers and is still filing at hundreds a year, while MicroVentures filed 4 Regulation Crowdfunding offerings in 2025 and had none open on its own public feed on September 18, 2026. Wefunder also charges the investor nothing on a direct Regulation CF offering. The comparison inverts on documentation. Measured on offerings whose deadline has passed and which were not withdrawn, so a final report is actually due, 144 of MicroVentures' 195 offerings carry a Form C-U stating an amount, 74%. On Wefunder it is 293 of 2,730, or 11%. So Wefunder is where the offerings are, and MicroVentures is where a closing amount can usually be reconstructed from filings.

What do MicroVentures and Wefunder charge?

They charge in different shapes, and for a small raise the shape matters more than the rate. Wefunder charges the issuer a $10,000 per-offering setup fee and the investor 0% on a direct Regulation CF offering; its Wefunds LLC side-car is priced separately at 5% management plus 10% carry, though the platform does not state the base or the period that 5% is charged on, which matters a great deal at that rate. MicroVentures charged a percentage: 7% of the amount raised on 50 offerings from 2016 to 2018 and 5% on 81 offerings from 2020 to 2025, plus securities equal to 2% of the securities sold on 126 of the 194 offerings, not all of them. On an offering carrying both, the securities interest is worth roughly a further 2% of offering value at the issue price, though it is compensation in securities and dilution to existing holders rather than a second cash charge. Run that against MicroVentures' median offering of $123,698 and the load is about $8,659 against Wefunder's flat $10,000, with the two crossing at roughly $142,857. MicroVentures publishes no fee for its Regulation D vehicles at all.

Do both platforms run a Reg D side-car alongside Reg CF?

Yes, and that shared architecture is why this comparison is worth making. Wefunder operates Wefunder Portal LLC for Regulation CF and Wefunds LLC for Regulation D 506(c) side-cars, 96 series raising $60.1 million, in two eras: per-issuer vehicles from 2014 to 2017 and generic pools from 2022. MicroVentures operates its broker-dealer for both, with 999 single-purpose Regulation D vehicles reporting $260,740,526 sold. The proportions are inverted. Wefunder's side-car is a small adjunct to a large retail book; MicroVentures' vehicle series is roughly nine times the size of its entire crowdfunding history and is the part still filing.

Have either been fined, and what for?

Both, and Wefunder's is the larger and the more on-point. FINRA settled with Wefunder in May 2022 under AWC No. 2021071940801, covering five categories of violations between 2016 and 2021, including 39 offerings that circumvented Regulation CF maxima by redirecting investors into Regulation D, roughly $20 million in aggregate, about $290,000 of dormant escrow not transmitted, supervisory failures and solicitation rule violations. Wefunder filed a corrective action statement, and AltStreet located no subsequent enforcement within its stated search scope. MicroVenture Marketplace Inc. accepted an AWC dated December 30, 2019: censure and a $40,000 fine for failing to make the private placement memorandum filings required by Rule 5123 on twenty offerings in 2017, consented to without admitting or denying. AltStreet located no SEC enforcement action or investor class action against either firm; PACER and state securities regulators were not searched.

Can you tell how much a company actually raised on each platform?

Usually on MicroVentures, rarely on Wefunder, and this is the sharpest measurable difference between them. Regulation Crowdfunding requires a final Form C-U progress update within five business days of the offering deadline, stating the amount sold. AltStreet measured it on offerings whose deadline has passed and which were not withdrawn, so a report is actually due: 144 of MicroVentures' 195 offerings carry a C-U stating an amount, 74%, and 169 carry any C-U at all, 87%. On Wefunder, 293 of 2,730 such offerings carry a C-U stating an amount, 11%. The practical consequence is that MicroVentures' $28,540,887 of realized crowdfunding capital is a filing-derived figure covering three quarters of its offerings, while Wefunder's aggregate raise claims rest on a deal-level filed record that exists for about one offering in nine. AltStreet could parse final totals for 254 closed Wefunder offerings, where the median raise was $283,000 and only about 21% reached $1 million.

Which issuers raised on both platforms?

Nine, which AltStreet could only identify after repairing its own Wefunder census in September 2026. The overlapping issuers are 20/20 GeneSystems, Zeehaus, ReGrained, Gleantap, Leaping Harts, Aladdin Scheme, SuperdopeTV, Jetoptera and the issuer that raised on MicroVentures as Oracle Health and on Wefunder as Future Cardia. They matter more than the number suggests: a company that ran a campaign on each platform holds the venue constant against the same business, so its two Form C records can be read side by side on terms, instrument and what was ultimately filed about the outcome.

What did investors actually buy on each platform?

On both platforms, mostly not stock, which is the more interesting answer. Of MicroVentures' 194 initial Form C offerings, 131 sold a Crowd Note, 17 a SAFE, 18 preferred stock and 4 common, so about 68% sold a convertible and about 2% conveyed common stock at purchase. Of Wefunder's 2,902, 1,569 sold a SAFE and 337 a convertible note, against 389 preferred, 163 common and 149 debt, so about 66% sold a convertible and about 6% common stock. Both platforms therefore sold retail investors a contingent claim far more often than a share. The structural difference is on the side-car: the same underlying company can be offered through a direct Regulation CF security or through a Wefunds LLC vehicle carrying different rights, a 5% management fee, 10% carry and a partnership K-1, and the platform does not surface that choice comparatively.

What happens after you invest on either platform?

Very little is published by either, and the filing record is thin on both. Neither platform discloses realized returns, exits or write-offs at deal level. Wefunder's review case is the Meow Wolf pattern: an issuer raised on Regulation CF in 2017, filed one annual report showing $9.2 million of revenue and a $7.7 million operating loss, then filed a Form C-TR terminating its reporting obligation, leaving investors with nine subsequent years of no SEC visibility while the company kept raising elsewhere. MicroVentures' issuers file annual reports more often than the market average on an issuer-level test, with 34 of 134 confirmed-raise issuers filing neither a report nor a termination against 40% market-wide, though 59 of its 179 classified issuers have lapsed in their reporting and 33 never filed one at all.

Sources and method

Both censuses come from SEC EDGAR Form C family filings, keyed to each platform's intermediary CIK. MicroVentures: 696 filings resolved into 195 offerings by 182 issuers across CIK 1478147 and CIK 1683054, with 179 issuers carrying an outcome classification, the compensation clause read from each offering's initial Form C, and realized capital taken as the largest progress update within each offering summed across offerings. Wefunder: 4,790 filings resolved into 2,908 offerings by 2,494 issuers through Wefunder Portal LLC (CIK 1670254), with the Wefunds LLC Regulation D side-car taken from AltStreet's Form D data layer and the parsed-raise subset of 254 closed offerings from the Wefunder review. Offerings are reconstructed by filing sequence on both platforms, because a Form C carries no pointer to the filing it amends: each initial Form C opens an offering and the amendments and progress updates that follow attach to it. The progress-update comparison is measured only on offerings whose deadline had passed and which were not withdrawn, so that a final report was actually due; that test covers all 195 MicroVentures offerings and 2,730 of Wefunder's 2,908. A note on the census: until September 18, 2026 AltStreet's Wefunder rows stored a placeholder issuer identifier and a malformed accession, so no issuer-level comparison against Wefunder was possible; repairing both recovered 2,438 issuer identities into the census and is what made the overlap analysis in this guide computable, with the counts above taken from the market-wide ledger. Regulatory records come from FINRA BrokerCheck and the published AWCs. Company-reported figures are labeled as such and are not verified.

Related records on AltStreet