Platform Comparison Guide · Updated August 2026

Securitize vs Ondo 2026

The two biggest names in tokenized real-world assets are usually framed as rivals. They are better understood as different layers of the same stack — and this guide compares what the offering documents and filings actually show.

Guide Thesis

One runs the market infrastructure. One runs a fund family. A quarter of the fund family settles on the other's rails.

Securitize: wider US access ($1K retail to $5M QP) but wrapper terms that vary sharply per vehicle. Ondo: one US-investable fund product (OUSG, accredited + QP, K-1) with more uniform, more easily summarized terms — and a governance token that is not the product. Neither brand replaces reading the specific offering document.

Most comparisons stop at "both tokenize Treasuries." The business model, the eligibility ladder, and the per-vehicle variance are what actually change the decision.

Securitize: multi-issuer rails, NYSE-listed, US access from $1,000 retail to $5M Qualified Purchaser — terms set vehicle-by-vehicle. Ondo: single issuer, one US product (OUSG, $5K, accredited + QP), uniform terms, partnership K-1.

Securitize vs Ondo tokenized RWA platform comparison 2026

The Core Decision

Pick your rung on the eligibility ladder first. Then read the specific wrapper.

A US retail investor has exactly two doors, both on Securitize: the $1,000 registered ArCoin fund and issuer-sponsored tokenized stocks. An accredited investor adds Apollo ACRED ($50K). An accredited investor who is also a qualified purchaser adds Ondo's OUSG at $5K — the cheapest QP-grade tokenized Treasury seat in this comparison — plus the Hamilton Lane feeders. Institutions at $5M reach BlackRock BUIDL. On Ondo the terms are the same for everyone who clears the gate; on Securitize, AltStreet's document review found the terms change with every vehicle — which is why the second step is always the specific PPM or prospectus.

US Access

Securitize (wider range)

Securitize spans retail ($1K ArCoin, tokenized stocks) to QP ($5M BUIDL). Ondo's one US-investable fund product is OUSG — accredited + QP, $5K, K-1.

Business Model

Rails vs issuer

Securitize: NYSE-listed transfer agent + BD/ATS + marketplace for BlackRock/Apollo/VanEck funds. Ondo: manufactures and distributes its own products.

The Twist

Counterparties

Ondo's flagship OUSG held ~24.8% of assets in BlackRock BUIDL (June 26, 2026 snapshot) — the fund Securitize administers. Rivals above, plumbing-partners below.

TL;DR

The situation in two sentences

Securitize is the most institutionally validated tokenization platform in the market — NYSE-listed (SECZ), transfer agent and broker-dealer registrations, $4B+ in platform AUM anchored by BlackRock's $2.7B BUIDL — but AltStreet's document-level review found its vehicles' investor terms vary more within the platform than across most competing platforms, from a $1,000 registered retail fund to feeders with non-voting shares and no voluntary redemption. Ondo is a single issuer whose principal products have generally operated in line with their stated structures, with one US-investable fund product (OUSG: $5K, accredited + QP, 0.15% fee waived, K-1) — and a governance token, down ~85% from its 2024 peak, that carries no claim on any of it.

If you read nothing else: jump to the head-to-head sections →

Securitize is the wider-access, read-the-PPM option

  • → US access from $1,000 retail (ArCoin, tokenized stocks) to $5M QP (BUIDL)
  • → Brand-name shelf: BlackRock, VanEck, Apollo, Hamilton Lane, KKR
  • → NYSE-listed operator with SEC-registered transfer agent + BD/ATS
  • → Trade-off: terms vary enormously per vehicle — tax spans 1099/K-1/PFIC, liquidity spans daily-to-never

Ondo is the uniform, single-product option

  • → OUSG: $5K, accredited + QP, 0.15% waived to 2027, 24/7 USDC redemption
  • → Daily third-party NAV; ~$100.92 → ~$115.70 over 956 days
  • → SEC-registered adviser; one structure, one tax treatment (K-1)
  • → Trade-off: everything else is non-US only, and ONDO the token is not the product

Quick decision

If you want tokenized Treasuries as a QP

Ondo OUSG

The cheapest qualified-purchaser seat in the segment: $5K vs BUIDL's $5M, 0.15% fee waived until 2027, 24/7 redemption, daily third-party NAV — priced for a partnership K-1.

If you want retail access or private markets

Securitize

The only retail doors ($1K ArCoin, tokenized stocks) and the only brand-name private-market shelf (Apollo, Hamilton Lane, KKR) — provided you read the specific vehicle's PPM, because terms vary sharply.

If you are allocating $5M+ institutionally

Securitize (BUIDL)

BlackRock's $2.7B BUIDL on Securitize rails is the category anchor for institutional tokenized cash — daily liquidity at a target $1.00 NAV across six chains.

24.8%

Of Ondo's flagship OUSG sat in BlackRock BUIDL — the fund Securitize administers

Platform-reported OUSG composition at the June 26, 2026 snapshot: Fidelity 30.3%, Franklin 29.8%, BUIDL 24.8%, WisdomTree 12.4%. The 'rivals' are counterparties.

$2.7B / $407M

BUIDL live AUM (on Securitize rails) vs OUSG-only TVL

BUIDL $2.70B across six chains (Aug 2026, platform-reported). OUSG ~$407M (June 2026); Ondo combined TVL ~$3.57B across all products.

$1K vs $5K

Lowest US minimum on each platform — at very different gates

Securitize's ArCoin: $1,000, retail, registered '40 Act fund (but $444K net assets on an expiring fee waiver). Ondo's OUSG: $5,000, accredited + qualified purchaser.

SECZ vs ONDO

NYSE common equity vs a governance token down ~85%

SECZ: Exchange Act reporting company, listed July 2026, also holdable tokenized. ONDO: no direct claim on product fees or TVL; ~51% of supply uncirculated. Neither ticker is the products.

Comparison hub

Head-to-head decision map

The comparison is asymmetric by design — a multi-issuer marketplace against a single-issuer product line.

These sections isolate the business-model, Treasury-product, and tokenized-equity dimensions where the platforms differ most sharply. The data is sourced from ingested offering documents, SEC filings, and platform-reported figures labeled as such — not marketing materials.

Multi-issuer rails vs single-issuer product line

Securitize vs Ondo: Business Model & Regulatory Stack

This is the structural difference everything else flows from. Securitize is infrastructure with a marketplace on top: an SEC-registered transfer agent (NYSE's first digital transfer agent), a FINRA/SIPC broker-dealer operating the Securitize Markets ATS, a fund administrator, and an advisory affiliate that sponsors tokenized feeders — with a NYSE-listed parent (SECZ) since July 2, 2026. Its ~$4B+ in platform AUM belongs mostly to other managers' funds (BlackRock BUIDL $2.7B, VanEck VBILL $193M). Ondo is an issuer: it manufactures OUSG, USDY, and Global Markets under its own brand, with an SEC-registered investment adviser (Ondo Capital Management LLC) and ~$3.57B in combined onchain TVL. One consequence AltStreet's document review makes concrete: Ondo's shelf has uniform terms per product line, while Securitize's vehicles vary enormously — minimums $1,000 to $5,000,000, liquidity daily-to-never, tax 1099/K-1/PFIC — because each issuer or feeder writes its own wrapper.

Practical answer

If you are evaluating the operator, Securitize is the more auditable company — NYSE-listed, Exchange Act reporting, registered transfer agent and broker-dealer — while its feeder advisor is only an exempt reporting adviser. If you are evaluating the product you would hold, Ondo's uniformity is underrated: one US product, one structure, one tax treatment, documented end-to-end. On Securitize the same diligence must be redone per vehicle, because the platform brand guarantees the rails, not your terms.

Decision factorWhat changes
What the company isSecuritize: tokenization rails + fund marketplace + sponsored feeders; NYSE: SECZ (July 2026, ~$1.25B Cantor combination); founded 2017. Ondo: tokenized-securities issuer (OUSG/USDY/Global Markets) + infrastructure arm (Nexus, Flux, Ondo Chain); private, token-governed.
Regulated entitiesSecuritize: SEC-registered transfer agent (Securitize, LLC); FINRA/SIPC broker-dealer + ATS (Securitize Markets); exempt reporting adviser (Securitize Capital). Ondo: SEC-registered investment adviser (Ondo Capital Management LLC); Delaware 3(c)(7) fund for OUSG; BVI issuer for USDY/GM.
Scale (Aug 2026)Securitize: $4B+ platform AUM (BUIDL $2.70B, VBILL $193M, AAA CLO $352.9M platform-reported), 575K+ accounts, 13 confirmed EDGAR CIKs. Ondo: ~$3.57B combined TVL (peak $4.31B May 2026), OUSG ~$407M, ~$1.86B cumulative Form D across 84 investors.
Terms consistencySecuritize: varies per vehicle — AltStreet's review found minimums $1K-$5M, liquidity daily-to-never, auditors PwC-to-blank-placeholder, and governance from independent board to unremovable manager on one shelf. Ondo: uniform per product line — OUSG's structure, fee, and K-1 apply to every OUSG holder.

BUIDL / VBILL / ArCoin vs OUSG / USDY

Securitize vs Ondo: Tokenized Treasuries Head-to-Head

This is the only segment where the platforms genuinely compete — and where they are also entangled. Ondo's OUSG is a feeder-of-feeders: platform-reported composition at the June 26, 2026 snapshot was Fidelity FYOXX 30.3%, Franklin BENJI 29.8%, BlackRock BUIDL 24.8%, WisdomTree WTGXX 12.4% — meaning roughly a quarter of OUSG settles on Securitize's own rails. The Securitize side runs three tiers: BUIDL ($5M, Qualified Purchasers, $2.7B, target $1.00 NAV, fee undisclosed on page), VBILL ($100K-$1M by chain at a 0.20% unitary fee, 7-day yield 3.45%, ~60% of the snapshot portfolio in overnight repo rather than direct Treasuries), and the retail ArCoin ($1,000, registered RIC, 0.78% net after a waiver covering a 95.56% gross ratio on $444K of net assets). OUSG sits between the tiers: $5K for accredited + QP investors, 0.15% fee waived until January 2027, 0% mint/redeem, daily third-party NAV, ~$100.92 to ~$115.70 over 956 days.

Practical answer

For a qualified-purchaser individual prioritizing minimum size, stated fees, daily NAV, and redemption access, OUSG presents the simplest Treasury proposition in this comparison ($5K vs BUIDL's $5M) — priced for a K-1. At institutional scale, BUIDL is the category anchor and the reason the segment exists. For retail, ArCoin is the only registered $1,000 door on either platform, but its waiver-dependent economics on a $444K asset base demand monitoring. And in every case, check what actually backs the token: OUSG is other managers' funds (including BUIDL), VBILL was ~60% overnight repo at capture, and only ArCoin holds ≥80% direct Treasuries under a '40 Act mandate.

Decision factorWhat changes
Minimum / eligibilityBUIDL: $5M, QP. VBILL: $100K (Avalanche/BNB/Solana) or $1M (Ethereum), QP. ArCoin: $1,000, retail. OUSG: $5,000, accredited + QP. USDY: non-US only.
FeesBUIDL: not disclosed on deal page. VBILL: 0.20% all-in unitary. ArCoin: 0.78% net (95.56% gross; waiver expires 2027-04-30, 3-yr recoupment). OUSG: 0.15% waived until 2027-01-01, 0% mint/redeem, plus underlying tokenized-fund expenses.
What backs itBUIDL: cash, T-bills, repo (BlackRock-managed, BVI). VBILL: ~60% overnight repo + ~39% direct T-bills at Aug 2026 snapshot. ArCoin: ≥80% direct Treasuries, '40 Act RIC. OUSG: feeder into Fidelity/Franklin/BlackRock/WisdomTree tokenized money funds — incl. 24.8% BUIDL.
NAV & liquidityBUIDL/VBILL: daily at target $1.00 NAV (not guaranteed; VBILL 72-hour transfer lock). ArCoin: monthly repurchase offers + the only operating ATS secondary market; trades need not occur at NAV. OUSG: 24/7 instant mint/redeem via USDC; daily NAV by NAV Consulting; demonstrated accretion over 956 days.
TaxBUIDL/VBILL: not disclosed on deal pages (BVI vehicles). ArCoin: RIC, 1099-DIV. OUSG: partnership K-1 (Ondo I LP) — atypical for cash management.

Retail-open issuer-sponsored stocks vs launched-not-open US equities — and SECZ vs ONDO

Securitize vs Ondo: Tokenized Stocks & the Ticker Trap

Both platforms crossed into tokenized public equities in July 2026, from opposite directions. Securitize launched issuer-sponsored tokenized stocks — beginning with its own NYSE-listed SECZ (~$295M held on day one per RWA.xyz), plus Currenc and FG Nexus — retail-eligible for verified US investors on Avalanche and Solana, with the issuer participating in tokenization and a live NYSE reference price. Ondo's equity exposure splits in two: Ondo Global Markets (Reg S, categorically closed to US and Canadian persons) and the first US custodial tokenized equities (BlackRock's IVV, Micron) under the SEC's January 2026 staff statement — a real framework milestone that is launched but not yet open to US retail. Behind the products sits the ticker trap, running in opposite directions: ONDO is a governance token with no direct claim on product fees, yield, or TVL, down ~85% from its December 2024 peak with ~51% of supply uncirculated; SECZ is actual reporting-company equity — a claim on the operator's business, though still not on any fund's performance.

Practical answer

For tokenized public stocks a US retail investor can hold today, Securitize is the only open door — with the caveat that the catalog is young and token-holder rights versus direct share ownership depend on the sponsorship terms. Ondo's US custodial track is the more consequential regulatory precedent if and when it opens to retail. On the ticker question: buying ONDO is buying governance of a DAO, not the products; buying SECZ is buying the platform operator, not the funds on it. Neither ticker is the product — but only one of them is equity.

Decision factorWhat changes
US retail tokenized stocksSecuritize: live — SECZ, Currenc (CURR), FG Nexus (FGNX waitlisted at capture); issuer-sponsored; retail-eligible for verified US investors. Ondo: not yet — Global Markets is non-US; US custodial equities (IVV, Micron) launched July 2026 but not retail-open.
ModelSecuritize: issuer-sponsored (the issuer participates in tokenization; live NYSE reference price). Ondo GM: offshore structured notes, spread-based pricing, 30% US dividend withholding at the BVI issuer. Ondo US track: third-party custodial under the SEC's Jan-2026 staff statement, via Oasis Pro TA.
Platform exposure tickerSECZ: NYSE common equity in Securitize Corp. — Exchange Act reporting, board, shareholder rights; also holdable tokenized. ONDO: governance token for the DAO and Flux; no direct claim on product economics; ~-85% from Dec-2024 peak; ~51% of 10B supply uncirculated.
What neither gives youExposure to fund performance: SECZ does not pay you BUIDL's yield, and ONDO does not pay you OUSG's. Both platforms' product returns accrue only inside the products themselves.

Scenario Analysis

$25,000 · Same capital · Both platforms

What a $25,000 allocation looks like across each platform's flagship US-relevant products (August 2026). Eligibility is the first gate; note which columns a $25K check can even enter.

MetricOndo OUSGSecuritize · ArCoinSecuritize · Apollo ACREDSecuritize · BlackRock BUIDL
$25K can enter?Yes — if accredited + QPYes — retail, $1K minNo — $50K minimumNo — $5M minimum, QP
What you holdLP interest, Ondo I LP (Delaware 3(c)(7))Registered '40 Act interval-fund shares (RIC)Non-voting shares in a BVI feeder into Apollo's interval fundClass A shares, BVI fund (BlackRock-managed)
ExposureFeeder into 4 tokenized money funds (incl. 24.8% BUIDL)≥80% direct US TreasuriesDiversified private credit (88% floating, 96% senior secured at last disclosure)Cash, T-bills, repo — target $1.00 NAV
Fees0.15% (waived to 2027-01-01); 0% mint/redeem0.78% net after waiver (95.56% gross; waiver expires 2027-04)0.5% feeder + underlying fund fees (~3.5% combined, AltStreet-recorded)Not disclosed on deal page
Liquidity24/7 mint/redeem via USDC; daily NAVMonthly repurchase offers + ATS secondary (not necessarily at NAV)Quarterly, dependent on underlying fund's ≥5% repurchase offersDaily subscription/redemption (business days)
Yield / return (platform-reported)NAV accretion ~$100.92 → ~$115.70 (956 days)30-day SEC yield 3.13% (Jul 2026)6.82% annualized since Jan 2025; two negative monthsTarget $1.00 NAV; yield distributed daily
Tax documentSchedule K-1 (partnership)1099-DIV (RIC)Schedule K-1; extensions expected per PPMNot disclosed on deal page (BVI)

For $25,000 in August 2026: a retail investor's only door is ArCoin (with waiver-dependent economics on a $444K fund). An accredited-plus-QP investor's best Treasury seat is OUSG — under ACRED's $50K minimum and three orders of magnitude under BUIDL's. The private-credit column (ACRED) is a different asset class at a different fee load, not a substitute for the Treasury products. No single column dominates: the right one depends on your gate, your tax tolerance, and whether you want cash management or credit exposure.

Which platform can a US investor actually access?

Short answer

Both serve US investors, at different rungs. Ondo: one US-investable fund product — OUSG, accredited + qualified purchaser, $5,000 minimum; USDY and Global Markets are Reg S, closed to US and Canadian persons. Securitize: the full ladder from ArCoin at $1,000 (retail) to BUIDL at $5,000,000 (QP), detailed in the table below. Securitize is wider; Ondo is simpler. On Securitize, confirm each vehicle's gate from its own offering document — they are not interchangeable.

⚠ The gate differs per product, not per platform

Unlike most platform comparisons, neither side here has a single eligibility answer. Securitize hosts retail, accredited, and qualified-purchaser products on one shelf; Ondo has one US product and two non-US lines. Match the specific product to your status before comparing anything else — and on Securitize, verify the gate in the PPM, since AltStreet found deal-page terms contradicting governing documents on several vehicles.

ProductUS-eligible?RequirementExemption / structure
Securitize · Arca ArCoinYes — retail$1,000; KYC + wallet whitelistingRegistered '40 Act interval fund (RIC); Delaware statutory trust
Securitize · Tokenized stocks (SECZ, CURR)Yes — retailVerified US investorsIssuer-sponsored tokenized public equities (Avalanche, Solana)
Ondo OUSGYesAccredited + qualified purchaser; $5KReg D 506(c); Ondo I LP, Delaware 3(c)(7)
Securitize · Apollo ACREDYesAccredited; $50KReg D 506(c) + Reg S; BVI feeder into a registered interval fund
Securitize · Hamilton Lane feeders / AAA CLOYesAccredited + QP (HL); accredited, $100K (CLO)Reg D 506(c), 3(c)(7)/3(c)(1); Delaware LPs and BVI companies
Securitize · BlackRock BUIDL / VanEck VBILLYes — QP onlyQualified Purchasers; $5M (BUIDL) / $100K-$1M by chain (VBILL)Section 4(a)(2) / Reg D; BVI funds, issuer-led
Ondo USDY / Global MarketsNoNon-US only; US & Canada prohibitedReg S; Ondo Global Markets (BVI) Limited

What do you actually hold, and who controls it?

Short answer

On both platforms you hold a claim defined by an offering document, not the platform brand. Ondo OUSG: an LP interest in a Delaware 3(c)(7) partnership feeding four other managers' tokenized money funds — including a ~24.8% BUIDL position at the June 2026 snapshot — with daily third-party NAV but an audit firm not surfaced publicly. Securitize's shelf spans the spectrum from registered RIC shares with an independent board (ArCoin) to sponsored-feeder shares that in two documented cases are non-voting. The table below maps the range; the wrapper, not the platform, is the unit of diligence.

DimensionOndo OUSGSecuritize · ArCoinSecuritize · BUIDL / VBILLSecuritize · sponsored feeders
InstrumentLP interest, Ondo I LP (Delaware)Registered fund shares (ERC-20 ArCoin)BVI fund shares, issuer-led (BlackRock / VanEck manage)Feeder shares/units — non-voting in ACRED and SF6
GovernanceConventional fund governance; SEC-registered adviserIndependent board majority; bounded suspension rightsIssuer-led; brand-name manager in controlManager-controlled: two-employee board (ACRED); manager removable only by itself (SF6)
ValuationDaily NAV by NAV Consulting (third party)Daily external NAV (Ultimus admin)Daily; target $1.00 NAV, not guaranteedManager-determined, 'conclusive and binding' — final unless fraud or obvious error
AuditAnnual audit asserted; firm not surfacedAnnual independent audit (registered fund)PwC (VBILL); BUIDL page defective on providersVaries: WithumSmith+Brown (ACRED), Richey May (SF6), blank field (EOV)
Underlying diligenceFeeder into 4 named tokenized money funds (platform-reported mix)Direct ≥80% Treasury mandateBrand-name manager runs the book directlyAdvisor states in writing it will not diligence the underlying fund (ACRED, AAA CLO)
Exit control24/7 mint/redeem via USDCMonthly repurchase offers; ATS secondaryDaily (business days)Monthly-gated (SCOPE) to none (EOV, SF6 — non-redeemable to 2034)

The structural asymmetry is the takeaway: Ondo's one US product sits in a conventional, well-documented wrapper, while Securitize's shelf contains both the best wrapper in this table (ArCoin's registered fund) and the most manager-favorable (the sponsored feeders). Note also the circularity — BUIDL was OUSG's third-largest reported holding at the June 26 snapshot, meaning part of an OUSG holder's claim already runs through Securitize's transfer agent and administrator regardless of which "platform" they chose.

How do fees and tax compare?

Short answer

On Treasuries, OUSG has the most transparent headline: 0.15% waived until January 2027 with 0% mint/redeem, against VBILL's 0.20% unitary fee, BUIDL's undisclosed page fee, and ArCoin's 0.78% net. On tax, Ondo's one US-investable fund product is uniformly K-1, while Securitize spans 1099-DIV, K-1, and PFIC/Form 8621 across one shelf. The pattern: Ondo's costs are knowable upfront; Securitize's must be assembled per vehicle from the offering document — details in the table below.

ComponentOndo OUSGSecuritize Treasury productsSecuritize private-market feeders
Management fee0.15%, waived until 2027-01-01VBILL 0.20% unitary; ArCoin 0.78% net (95.56% gross); BUIDL not disclosed on pageTypically 0.5% feeder layer + underlying fund fees/carry, mostly unquantified in the PPM
Transaction costs0% mint/redeem; USDC railsZero Hash rails: $18 domestic wire, 0.1% USDC/USD; 1% ATS commission on secondary tradesSame rails; both the AAA CLO and SCOPE PPMs disclose a 2% adjustable, GP-waivable liquidity-pool fee on redemptions — SCOPE additionally applies a separate 5% monthly redemption gate
Indirect feesUnderlying tokenized money funds' expenses (feeder)ArCoin waiver recoupable 3 years; AAA CLO 0.40% cap excludes CLO-level costsAffiliate service fees 'negotiated from time to time,' not offset against mgmt fee (ACRED PPM)
US tax documentSchedule K-1 (partnership)ArCoin 1099-DIV (RIC); BUIDL/VBILL undisclosed (BVI)K-1 (ACRED, HL — extensions expected); PFIC/8621 (AAA CLO); confirm per PPM
All-in knowabilityHigh — stated fee, stated waiver, one structureMedium — varies by vehicle; VBILL/ArCoin quantified, BUIDL notLow — AltStreet could not compute a defensible all-in ratio for most feeders from their own documents

The K-1 deserves its own sentence on both sides: OUSG's partnership tax sits oddly on a cash-management product, and Securitize's ACRED carries the same document plus an explicit warning to expect filing extensions. The genuinely simple tax profile in this entire comparison is ArCoin's 1099-DIV — attached to the smallest and most waiver-dependent vehicle on either platform. There is no product here that is simultaneously low-fee, low-minimum, and tax-simple; every column trades one for another.

Which platform is right for which investor?

Short answer

Ondo OUSG suits accredited-plus-QP investors prioritizing minimum size, stated fees, and redemption access — if they can absorb a K-1. Securitize suits three distinct profiles: retail investors (ArCoin, tokenized stocks — the only retail doors here), accredited investors buying brand-name private markets through feeders (only if they read the specific PPM), and institutions allocating $5M+ to BUIDL. Neither platform suits IRA investors well, and neither ticker — SECZ or ONDO — is a substitute for holding the products.

Choose Ondo OUSG if

  • → You are accredited and a qualified purchaser with $5K-$5M to allocate
  • → You want tokenized Treasuries with stated fees and 24/7 USDC redemption
  • → You value one uniform structure over a menu of varying wrappers
  • → You want daily third-party NAV and 956 days of demonstrated accretion
  • → You can absorb partnership K-1 tax on a cash-management product

Avoid if:

You are not a QP (no US product for you on Ondo), you need 1099 simplicity, or you are buying the ONDO token expecting product exposure.

Choose Securitize if

  • → You are retail: ArCoin ($1K, registered fund) and tokenized stocks are the only retail doors here
  • → You want brand-name private markets (Apollo, Hamilton Lane, KKR) at $10K-$50K minimums
  • → You are an institution allocating $5M+ to tokenized cash (BUIDL) or $100K+ (VBILL)
  • → You want the operator itself to be a listed, reporting company
  • → You will read the specific vehicle's PPM before wiring — non-negotiable here

Avoid if:

You assume the platform brand standardizes terms (it does not), you need liquidity from the feeder shelf, or you cannot verify tax classification per vehicle.

Neither is a fit if

  • → You want Treasury yield without any eligibility or wrapper complexity — a money-market fund or T-bill ETF is simpler and cheaper
  • → You are investing through an IRA — UBTI/PFIC variance (Securitize) and K-1s (both) make the complexity-to-benefit ratio poor
  • → You need guaranteed secondary liquidity — the ATS trades one fund, and the feeder documents AltStreet reviewed describe potential ATS listing without guaranteeing it
  • → You cannot distinguish platform exposure (SECZ equity, ONDO governance) from product exposure

Cross-holding note:

OUSG holders already carry ~25% indirect BUIDL exposure. Holding OUSG and BUIDL together concentrates, rather than diversifies, tokenized-cash rail risk.

Hard avoid:

Treating either headline ticker — ONDO or SECZ — as the value or performance of the funds. Neither pays you the products' yield.

AltStreet Take

What the documents actually say

  • →

    These are layers, not rivals — and the proof is inside OUSG itself.

    Securitize runs rails and a marketplace; Ondo manufactures products. The clearest evidence that the rivalry framing is overdone: Ondo's flagship OUSG held a platform-reported 24.8% of its assets in BlackRock BUIDL at the June 26, 2026 snapshot — a fund Securitize provides tokenization, administration, and transfer-agent services for. Every OUSG holder is already, indirectly, a Securitize-rails user. The real competition is narrow: QP-grade tokenized Treasuries, where OUSG's $5K minimum and BUIDL's $5M minimum mostly serve different buyers anyway.

  • →

    Securitize wins on access range; Ondo wins on term uniformity — and uniformity is underrated.

    Securitize's shelf runs $1,000 retail to $5M QP, the widest in tokenized RWAs. But AltStreet's review of seven Securitize offering documents found the terms vary more within the platform than across most competing platforms: tax spans 1099-DIV, K-1, and PFIC; liquidity spans daily to contractually non-redeemable; governance spans an independent board to a manager removable only by itself. Ondo's one US product has one structure, one fee, one tax document. For an investor who will not read PPMs, uniformity is worth real money.

  • →

    The ticker trap runs in opposite directions — and only one ticker is equity.

    ONDO provides governance rights over the Ondo DAO and Flux but, per Ondo's own framing, no disclosed contractual claim on product revenue, yield, or TVL — and it is down ~85% from its December 2024 peak with ~51% of supply uncirculated. SECZ represents equity ownership in the platform operator, with Exchange Act reporting behind it, and is itself holdable in tokenized form. Neither pays you the funds' returns — but for an investor who specifically wants platform exposure, SECZ is a claim on a business while ONDO's value proposition is governance.

  • →

    On private markets, Securitize is the only option — which is exactly why the diligence bar is higher there.

    Ondo has no Apollo, Hamilton Lane, or KKR shelf; Securitize does, at $10K-$50K minimums. But those feeders are where AltStreet's review found the weakest terms: non-voting shares, two-employee boards, written no-due-diligence clauses, multi-layer fees with unquantified bottoms (ACRED's recorded combined stack ~3.5%), and liquidity from quarterly-derivative to non-redeemable-until-2034. Access to a brand name is not access to that brand's institutional terms. Price the feeder against a direct interval-fund share class before wiring.

Primary sources reviewed

Forensic source layer

Every data point in this guide is sourced from an ingested offering document, a primary filing, or independently ingested on-chain data — not marketing materials or press releases unless explicitly labeled platform-reported.

Data as of

August 5, 2026

Securitize document ingest / deal-page capture

Securitize sources

  • ›Offering documents — Seven ingested and forensically extracted: Apollo ACRED PPM, AAA CLO PPM, Hamilton Lane SCOPE/EOV/SF6 PPMs, Arca prospectus, Index Four PPM — with verbatim verification of contested fields.
  • ›SEC EDGAR — 31-entity sweep resolving 13 confirmed platform CIKs, incl. Securitize Corp. (2094496), BUIDL (2013810), ACRED (2056038), VBILL (2068562), and the Hamilton Lane feeders. Source ↗
  • ›Exchange Act filings — Securitize Corp. post-listing 8-K exhibit set (2026-07-08) incl. the BUIDL platform-services and placement agreements; NYSE listing 2026-07-02.
  • ›Deal pages — All ten tracked vehicles captured 2026-08-04/05; platform-reported AUM/yield recorded with basis warnings; display defects documented against the governing documents.
  • ›BrokerCheck — Securitize Markets, LLC — SEC-registered broker-dealer, FINRA/SIPC, ATS operator (CRD 283256). Source ↗

Ondo sources

  • ›SEC Form D — Ondo I LP (OUSG fund) — Reg D 506(c), 4 filings; cumulative ~$1.86B / 84 investors. CIK 0001957431. EDGAR ↗
  • ›Entity profile — Ondo Finance Inc. — EDGAR entity record. CIK 0001949480; adviser Ondo Capital Management LLC (SEC-registered RIA). EDGAR ↗
  • ›docs.ondo.finance — OUSG fees/taxes and trust-and-transparency pages; USDY basics; Global Markets legal & regulatory. Full scrape (89 pages).
  • ›Official product page — ondo.finance/ousg — platform-reported composition (Fidelity 30.3% / Franklin 29.8% / BUIDL 24.8% / WisdomTree 12.4%, 2026-06-26), yields, daily NAV.
  • ›DefiLlama / CoinGecko — Combined TVL ~$3.57B (peak ~$4.31B, 2026-05-12); OUSG-only ~$407M; ONDO ~$0.31 (-85%); OUSG/USDY NAV series. AltStreet on-chain ingest (2026-06-28).

FAQs

Securitize vs Ondo: Common questions

Which platform can a US investor actually use: Securitize or Ondo?+

Both — but at very different rungs of the eligibility ladder. Ondo currently has one US-investable fund product: OUSG, its tokenized short-term Treasury fund, open to investors who are both accredited and qualified purchasers at a $5,000 minimum (USDY and Global Markets are Reg S, closed to US and Canadian persons). Securitize spans the whole ladder: Arca ArCoin at $1,000 (retail, '40 Act registered), issuer-sponsored tokenized stocks (retail-eligible for verified US investors), Apollo ACRED at $50,000 (accredited), Hamilton Lane feeders at $10,000-$20,000 (accredited + QP), and BlackRock BUIDL at $5,000,000 (Qualified Purchasers). Securitize is wider in range; Ondo's single US product has more uniform and more easily summarized terms, while AltStreet's document review found Securitize's vehicles vary sharply wrapper-by-wrapper.

Are Securitize and Ondo actually competitors?+

Less than the headlines suggest — they are different layers of the same stack, and literally counterparties. Ondo is an issuer: it manufactures its own products (OUSG, USDY, Global Markets) and distributes them. Securitize is primarily rails plus a marketplace: an SEC-registered transfer agent, a FINRA/SIPC broker-dealer with an ATS, and administration/placement for other managers' funds (BlackRock BUIDL, VanEck VBILL) alongside feeders it sponsors itself (Apollo, Hamilton Lane, KKR). The clearest proof they are not simple rivals: Ondo's flagship OUSG is a feeder-of-feeders whose platform-reported composition included a 24.8% allocation to BlackRock BUIDL at the June 26, 2026 snapshot — the fund Securitize provides tokenization, administration, and transfer-agent services for. When you buy OUSG, roughly a quarter of your exposure settles on Securitize's rails.

BlackRock BUIDL vs Ondo OUSG — which tokenized Treasury product is better?+

They serve different check sizes more than different theses. BUIDL (on Securitize rails, BlackRock-managed) is the institutional instrument: $5M minimum, Qualified Purchasers, $2.7B live AUM across six chains, daily subscription/redemption at a target $1.00 NAV — but its fee is not disclosed on the deal page. OUSG is the accessible QP instrument: $5K minimum, 0.15% fee waived until January 1, 2027, 0% mint/redeem, 24/7 USDC redemption, daily third-party NAV, and demonstrated accretion (~$100.92 to ~$115.70 over 956 days) — priced for a partnership K-1. The circularity matters: OUSG held a ~24.8% BUIDL position at the June 26, 2026 snapshot, so it is partly a wrapper around the very product it competes with. Choosing between them is mostly choosing between direct access at institutional scale and diversified feeder access at retail-adjacent scale.

What tax documents do Securitize and Ondo products issue?+

Ondo is uniform: OUSG is an LP interest in Ondo I LP (Delaware), taxed as a partnership, issuing Schedule K-1 — heavier than the 1099 most investors expect from a cash-management product. Securitize is anything but uniform, and that is AltStreet's core review finding: the Arca fund is a RIC issuing 1099-DIV; the Apollo ACRED feeder and Hamilton Lane LPs are partnerships issuing K-1s (with documents explicitly warning investors to expect filing extensions); and the AAA CLO fund and Index Four elect corporate treatment as PFICs requiring Form 8621, with QEF information expressly not assured. BUIDL and VBILL do not disclose tax treatment on their deal pages. On Ondo you know the tax cost upfront; on Securitize you must confirm it from the specific vehicle's offering document, because all three regimes exist on the same shelf.

What is the difference between buying SECZ stock and buying the ONDO token?+

They are opposite answers to the same question — how do I get exposure to the platform itself? Securitize Corp. listed on the NYSE on July 2, 2026 (ticker SECZ, via the ~$1.25B Cantor Equity Partners II combination): SECZ represents equity ownership in an Exchange Act reporting company, with financial statements, board committees, and shareholder rights — also available in issuer-sponsored tokenized form, retail-eligible for verified US investors. ONDO is a governance token for the Ondo DAO and Flux Finance: it provides governance rights but, per Ondo's own framing, no disclosed contractual claim on product revenue, yield, or TVL; it is down roughly 85% from its December 2024 peak (~$2.06 to ~$0.31), with about 51% of the 10 billion max supply uncirculated. Neither instrument is exposure to the underlying products' performance — SECZ is a claim on the operator's business, while ONDO's value proposition is governance rather than cash flow.

Which platform offers tokenized stocks to US investors?+

Today, Securitize — with the important nuance that both are early. Securitize launched issuer-sponsored tokenized public stocks in July 2026, beginning with its own NYSE-listed SECZ (plus Currenc and FG Nexus at capture), retail-eligible for verified US investors on Avalanche and Solana, with a live NYSE reference price. Ondo runs tokenized equities on two tracks: Ondo Global Markets, which is Reg S and categorically closed to US and Canadian persons, and — as of July 2026 — the first US custodial tokenized equities (BlackRock's IVV ETF and Micron) under the SEC's January 2026 third-party custodial staff statement, launched but not yet open to US retail. So a verified US retail investor can hold a Securitize tokenized stock now; Ondo's US equity track is a genuine framework milestone that has not yet opened its doors.

Which platform is more regulated: Securitize or Ondo?+

The honest answer is that each is stronger on a different layer. Securitize's corporate stack is deeper: an SEC-registered transfer agent (named NYSE's first digital transfer agent in March 2026), a FINRA/SIPC broker-dealer operating an ATS, and a NYSE-listed reporting parent — but its feeder advisor, Securitize Capital, is an exempt reporting adviser, not an SEC-registered one, and most of its products are exempt 506(c) offerings whose wrapper terms vary sharply (AltStreet's review documented non-voting shares, unremovable managers, and written no-due-diligence clauses in specific feeders). Ondo's corporate footprint is lighter — a private company with a governance token — but its adviser, Ondo Capital Management LLC, is an SEC-registered investment adviser, and its one US product sits in a conventional Delaware 3(c)(7) fund with daily third-party NAV. Deeper regulated infrastructure (Securitize) versus a registered adviser on a uniform product (Ondo): pick the layer that matters for your use.

Related records on AltStreet

Disclosures: AltStreet has no commercial relationship with Securitize or Ondo Finance. No compensation was received for this comparison. Data sourced from primary filings and documentation: Securitize — seven ingested offering documents (Apollo ACRED PPM, AAA CLO PPM, Hamilton Lane SCOPE/EOV/SF6 PPMs, Arca U.S. Treasury Fund prospectus, Index Four L.P. PPM), an SEC EDGAR sweep of 31 affiliated entities across 13 confirmed CIKs, Securitize Corp. Exchange Act filings including the 2026-07-08 8-K exhibit set, FINRA BrokerCheck (CRD 283256), and deal-page captures for all ten tracked vehicles (2026-08-04/05); Ondo — SEC Form D for Ondo I LP (CIK 0001957431) and the Ondo Finance Inc. entity profile (CIK 0001949480), full scrapes of docs.ondo.finance and docs.fluxfinance.com, the official ondo.finance/ousg product page, and on-chain TVL/NAV/token ingestion from DefiLlama and CoinGecko (latest 2026-06-28). Figures labeled platform-reported are unaudited and hedged accordingly; AUM, TVL, and Form D cumulative-sales figures measure different things and are never presented interchangeably. NAV-accretion and yield figures are historical and do not guarantee future results. This is not investment, legal, or tax advice. Past performance does not predict future results. All investors should consult a qualified financial adviser before making investment decisions.

Last updated: August 5, 2026 · Last data reviewed: August 5, 2026 (Securitize document ingest); June 28, 2026 (Ondo on-chain ingest) · https://altstreet.investments/guides/securitize-vs-ondo